Press "Enter" to skip to content

McVicker, Brown To Meet Again To Be Bladen County Sheriff

Spread the love

Four years ago incumbent Bladen County Sheriff Jim McVicker held off a challenge by former deputy Hakeem Brown.

The men will square off again in 2022 for the job following easy primary wins Tuesday which saw both candidates receive more than 87% of their party’s votes.

McVicker, who is completing his second term, defeated Gary S. Edwards 2,270-to-323 Tuesday in the Republican primary and Brown beat Guy W. Childress 2,388-to-306 in the Democratic primary, based on unofficial returns from the Bladen County Board of Elections.

McVicker defeated Brown 6,950-to-5,562 in 2018.

The general election is scheduled Tuesday, Nov. 8.

In other races Tuesday, incumbent District 2 Commissioner Charles Ray Peterson easily beat Dawson Singletary 827-to-383 in the Republican primary, according to unofficial returns. There is no Democratic opponent so Peterson will retain the seat he has held since 2002. Peterson defeated Singletary 2,782-to-1,499 for the seat in 2018 when Singletary ran as a Democrat.

Cristin Hursey advanced to the November election to face Democrat Althea Dixon Weaver to replace retiring Clerk of Superior Court Niki Dennis. Hursey defeated Jason Britt 1,401-to-1,133 in the Republican primary, based on unofficial returns.

In the Democratic primary for three county-wide seats on the Board of Education, incumbents Vince Rozier (1,120 votes) and Corey Singletary (843 votes) advanced to November’s election along with Harfel Davis (435 votes), based on unofficial returns. Sophia Brixey (297 votes) finished fourth.

The three Democratic candidates will be in a field with Republicans Dennis Edwards, an incumbent, and Steve Kwiatkowski in November. A Republican primary was not needed since there were not more than three candidates.

Mackie Singletary won the Republican primary for the Board of Education’s District 2 seat. Singletary had 657 votes while Ben Lee had 288 and Berry Lewis had 259, based on unofficial returns. Singletary will replace Roger Carroll, who didn’t file for re-election. There is no Democratic candidate.

Voting figures released Tuesday night showed that 5,449 of 21,830 eligible voters cast a ballot in the primary. That’s 24.96%. In 2018, 5,871 votes were cast among 22,883 registered voters (25.66%).