Press "Enter" to skip to content

Middle School Boys Basketball: Elizabethtown 41, Tar Heel 16

Spread the love

ELIZABETHTOWN – Eleven different Elizabethtown players scored Tuesday night as the Cougars defeated Tar Heel 41-16 in Bladen Five Middle School Conference boys basketball action.

Center Javant McDowell dropped in a trio of first quarter baskets as the Cougars raced to a 10-1 lead. Teammate Drew Sholar nailed a 3-point shot, and guard JaQuez McKoy hit a free throw. Khalil Lloyd sank a free throw for the Panther point.

Brady Hollingsworth tossed in a trio of second quarter baskets and a free throw as the Elizabethtown lead grew to 30-8. Teammate Malcolm Bolden fired in a 3-point shot and 2 more baskets in the period, Zach Meares drained a 3-point shot and another basket, and Raymond Autry added a free throw.

Lloyd threw in a basket and 2 free throws for Tar Heel in the period, and teammate Kai Belle netted a basket and a free throw.

Ahmad Powell delivered a 3-point shot, a 2-point basket and a free throw in the second half for Elizabethtown. Teammate Ryan Yandle bombed in a 3-point shot, and Makhi Cromartie added a basket.

Lloyd pumped in 2 baskets in the second half and led the Tar Heel scoring with 9 points. Kendall Johnson and Larry Council scored the other Panther baskets in the second half.

Hollingsworth and Bolden shared scoring honors for Elizabethtown with 7 points each. McDowell and Powell followed with 6 points each, and Meares finished with 5 points.

The Cougars lead the Bladen Five with a 6-1 record by one game over Clarkton School of Discovery and Bladenboro. Tar Heel finished the regular season with a 2-6 record.

ELIZABETHTOWN (41) – JaQuez McKoy 1, Javant McDowell 6, Lefrederick Wooten, Zach Meares 5, Brady Hollingsworth 7, Drew Sholar 3, Ra’Sean McKoy, Raymond Autry 1, Malcolm Bolden 7, Layne Ross, Ahmad Powell 6, Marvin McKiver, Darius Autry, Ryan Yandle 3, Makhi Cromartie 2.

TAR HEEL (16) – Kendall Johnson 2, Kai Belle 3, Jordan Underwood, Khalil Lloyd 9, Ke’Shawn Ballard, Alex Brisson, Cory Clanton, Larry Council 2, Antonio Candeleria, Johnny Sims, Tucker Carroll.