Press "Enter" to skip to content

Black Voters Matter in Bladen County for Election Day

The Black Voters Matter group is in Bladen County for Election Day to promote voting for the North Carolina 9th District Congressional race along with Bladen County Board of Elections Republican member, Michael Aycock. View the interview now on our YouTube Channel.

There will be a party at the park according to the group to promote voting by way of “dancing to the polls” starting at noon today in front of the Bladen County Recreation Department located at 803 West King Street. The Black Voters Matter Co-founder, Cliff Albright said his group would be headed to Robeson County today as well to promote voting in that county as well.

The special election for the 9th Congressional District “is between the two Dans,” Mr. Aycock explained.

Candidates for the United States House of Representatives in North Carolina’s 9th congressional district seat are Democrat Dan McCready, Republican Dan Bishop, Green Party’s Allen Smith and Libertarian Jeff Scott. The district includes all or parts of eight counties in southeastern North Carolina and runs to Charlotte.

Black Voters Matter is an organization from Atlanta, Georgia, according to Mr. Albright, but is working with a Bladen County Political Action Committee known as Bladen Improvement Association.

Precincts open for voting in Bladen County include:

ABBOTS – Community Bldg. 13670 Twisted Hickory Rd., Bladenboro.

BETHEL – Singletary United Methodist Church 241 3rd St., Dublin.

BLADENBORO 1 – Historical Bldg. 818 S. Main St., Bladenboro.

BLADENBORO 2 – Old Spaulding-Monroe School 508 MLK Dr., Bladenboro.

BROWN MARSH – Town Hall 81 N Elm St., Clarkton.

CENTRAL – Shriner’s Bldg. 2016 NC 242 Hwy N, Elizabethtown.

COLLY – Fire Dept. 1879 White Lake Dr., White Lake.

CYPRESS CREEK – Hickory Grove Fire Dept. 132 NC 210 Hwy W, Garland.

ELIZABETHTOWN 1 – Bladen County Recreation Dept. Gym 803 W King St., Elizabethtown

HOLLOW – Municipal Bldg. 14867 NC 87 Hwy W, Tar Heel.

TURNBULL – Ammon Comm. Bldg. 120 Ammon Comm. Cent. Rd., Garland.

WHITE OAK – Ruritan Bldg. 9579 NC 53 Hwy W, White Oak.

Other items of interest about voting Tuesday.

Twelve precincts in Bladen County will be open until 7:30 p.m. Voters in line at 7:30 p.m. will be able to cast a ballot.

Same-day voter registration is not available on Election Day.

Voters who need assistance or accommodations at the polls must request it. Individuals who are unable to enter the polling place may vote curbside.

Voter photo identification is not required in any North Carolina election in 2019. It will be required to vote in 2020, with exceptions.

The 9th District special election was called after the State Board of Elections in February unanimously ordered a new election after a four-day evidentiary hearing showed a “coordinated, unlawful and substantially resourced absentee ballot scheme” operated in Bladen and Robeson counties during the 2018 general election.

Republican Mark Harris defeated McCready by about 900 votes in November.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.