Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladen County Boys Tournament: Bladenboro 53, Tar Heel 19

BLADENBORO – Bladenboro’s Bulldogs rolled to leads of 18-8 and 35-14 en route to a 53-19 boys basketball victory over Tar Heel Tuesday night in the opening round of the Bladen County Tournament.

Landon Stanley pumped in 2 baskets and 2 free throws to lead the early Bulldog run. Hezekiah Adams and center Chase Williams dropped in 2 baskets and a free throw each, and Jemiah Ross netted a basket. I’Keir Murchison fired in 3 baskets and 2 free throws to account for the Panther scoring in the quarter.

Photos by Kenneth Armstrong

Stanley sank 2 baskets and 4 free throws in the second quarter, and guard Jackson Pait buried a pair of 3-point shots. Adams popped in a basket as the Bladenboro lead stretched to 35-14. Murchison tossed in a basket and 4 free throws for the Panthers.

Pait nailed 2 more 3-point shots in the third period, and Stanley drilled in a basket and 2 free throws. Adams and Breenan Greene tacked on baskets as the margin swelled to 49-15. Josiah Robinson hit a free throw for Tar Heel in the period.

Williams and Adams worked inside for Bulldog baskets in the final quarter. Messyah Whitted delivered a basket for Tar Heel, and Robinson and Murchison added free throws.

Stanley topped all scorers with 19 points for Bladenboro. Pait totaled 12 points, and Adams followed with 11 points. Williams finished with 7 points. Murchison led the Panthers with 15 points.

Coach Joseph Gore’s Bulldogs raised their record to 3-1 and will play Clarkton School of Discovery in Thursday’s championship game. Tar Heel is now 0-3.

Tar Heel         8    6    1  4 – 19
Bladenboro  18  17  14  4 – 53

TAR HEEL (19) –Josiah Robinson 2, Joseph Cooper, Cornelius Esters, Kaleb Gaddy, Stefane Jessup, Damontre Love, Jahir Martinez, I’Keir Murchison 15, Damarion Pone, Christopher Perez, Tavion Smith, Messyah Whitted 2.

BLADENBORO (53) –Andre Moore, Hezekiah Adams 11, Chase Williams 7, Cade Allen, Aaron Lewis, Landon Stanley 19, Jackson Pait 12, Elijah McCollum, Tylik McCall, Jemiah Ross 2, Brandon McDonald, Breenan Greene 2, Trent Meares, Aiden Russ, Gavin Elks.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.