Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladen County Boys Tournament Clarkton School of Discovery 44, Elizabethtown 35

BLADENBORO – Lee Barnes poured in 24 points to lead Clarkton School of Discovery to a 44-35 boys basketball victory Monday in the opening round of the Bladen County Tournament.

Barnes sank 4 free throws, and teammate Rodney Lacewell tossed in a basket and 2 free throws to spark the Blue Devils to an early 8-3 lead. Dominick Collins popped in a basket and 2 free throws for the Cougars in the first half.

DeJohn Lesane rallied Elizabethtown with 3 baskets and 2 free throws in the second period, and Darius Williamson hit a free throw. Lacewell pumped in 2 baskets, Barnes dropped in a basket and 2 free throws, and Blaine Pope added a basket as CSD maintained a 19-15 halftime lead.

Barnes fired in 5 baskets and a free throw to key a 16-5 Blue Devil run in the third quarter that grew the lead to 35-20. Lacewell and Noah Hall hurled in a baskets, and Ja’Nathan Johnson made a foul shot. Collins canned a basket and a free throw, and Lesane tallied a basket for the Cougars.

Collins bombed in two 3-point shots and hit 2 free throws in the final quarter to finish with 15 points for Elizabethtown. Lesane threw in a basket and a free throw to share scoring honors for the Cougars with 15 points. Williamson netted 2 baskets in the fourth period and totaled 5 points.

Barnes drained a basket and 3 free throws in the fourth quarter for Clarkton. Hall and Keyon McKoy cashed in 2 free throws each. Lacewell followed Barnes on the Blue Devil scoring list with 10 points.

Coach Robert Mazur’s Blue Devils, now 2-1 on the season, advanced to Thursday’s championship game. Elizabethtown is now 1-1 on the season.

Clarkton              8    11   16    9  – 44
Elizabethtown     3    12    5    15 – 35

Elizabethtown (35) – J’Marius Smith, Darius Williamson 5, Chris Harding, DeJohn Lesane 15, Dominick Collins 15, Zach Metz, Jaylin Simmons, Kewone Maynor, Chace Butler, AaQuan Cotton, Conner Monroe, Ayden Williams.

CSD (44) – Blaine Pope 3, Ja’Nathan Johnson 1, Noah Hall 4, Lee Barnes 24, Rodney Lacewell 10, Matt Kemp, Keyon McKoy 2, Sherman Long, Dashon Campbell, Rashon Reevey, Chris Cromartie, Aiden Hargrove.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.