Spread the love
A new Jaycee chapter was formed in Clarkton with 38 charter members. The chapter was sponsored by the Bladenboro Jaycees. A banquet was held in Clarkton with 110 people attending to welcome the chapter to town. Freddie Tart was the chapter President, Albert Shaw, internal Vice President, Ronnie Tart, Treasurer, Wade Byrd, external Vice President, Neill Singletary, Secretary, members of the Board of Directors were Wayne Watts, Ernest Long, Jackie Kennedy and Robert M. Gooden.
The Bladen County Board of Education appointed a new East Bladen High School Advisory Council. The members of the council were Billy Carter, Charlie Gore, Ottis Graham, Wallace Leinwand, Jobe Metts, Edgar Stevens and Rev. Jerry Wallace.
Wade and Everett Byrd of Clarkton received recognition from Elanco Products for being runner-up to the N.C. Champion Peanut Grower. The Byrds grow peanuts on their farm east of Clarkton.