• 8:22 am Thoughts While Shaving for June 16
  • 6:53 am Bladen County Coach-Pitch Supplemental All-Stars
  • 6:51 am Elizabethtown Coach-Pitch Supplemental All-Stars
  • 6:48 am Elizabethtown Coach-Pitch All-Stars
  • 6:44 am DYB District 2 AA (Coach-Pitch) Supplemental Tournament: Elizabethtown 20, Bladen County 1

TAR HEEL – Kearean Ballard fired in 22 points to lead Tar Heel to a 37-24 boys basketball victory over Clarkton School of Discovery Tuesday night in the Bladen County Middle School Tournament.

Samaj Dove tossed in a basket and a free throw, and teammates Rodney Lacewell and Martin Rojas-Jacinto netted baskets as the Blue Devils forged an early 7-6 lead.

Ballard kept the Panthers close with a pair of baskets, and teammate Jordan Underwood popped in a basket.

Nyquan Richardson pumped in a basket and a free throw in the second quarter, and Lacewell and Dove tallied baskets to keep Clarkton on top 14-13 at halftime.

Ballard connected for a basket and a free throw, and Underwood and Ikeir Murchison dropped in baskets for Tar Heel.

The Panthers rode a 14-3 third quarter spurt to a 27-17 lead. Ballard lit up the scoreboard with 3 baskets and 2 free throws, and Underwood threw in a pair of baskets. Richardson bombed in a 3-point shot for the only CSD points in the quarter.

Ballard pumped in 3 more baskets and a free throw in the final quarter, and Underwood drilled in a 3-point shot.

Corey Robbins delivered a pair of baskets for Clarkton in the final period, and Shannon Hankins buried a 3-point shot.

Underwood finished with 11 points for the Panthers, and Murchison tallied 4 points. Richardson led Clarkton with 6 points, Dove followed with 5 points, and Robbins and Lacewell totaled 4 points each.

Coach Priscilla Council’s Panthers recorded their first win of the season and will play Elizabethtown in the tournament championship game at 5:15 Thursday.

The Blue Devils, now 2-4, will host Bladenboro Tuesday.

Clarkton        7     7     3     7 – 24
Tar Heel        6     7    14   10 – 37

CSD (24) –Shannon Hankins 3, Matt Kemp, Lee Barnes, Aniyaes Bethea, Martin Rojas-Jacinto 2, Rodney Lacewell 4, Janathan Johnson, Corey Robbins 4, Samaj Dove 5, Nyquan Richardson 6, Keyon McKoy.

 TH (37) – Deyon McDonald, Ikeir Murchison 4, Kearean Ballard 22, Jordan Underwood 11, Aquani Hilton, Stefane Jessup, Ahmir Stepps, Saquan Lewis, Camron Page, Tyrek Ballard.



Warning: include_once(/var/chroot/home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data01/25/2310925/html/wp-content/wp-cache): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data01/25/2310925/html/wp-content/themes/newsgem/footer.php on line 1

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/var/chroot/home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data01/25/2310925/html/wp-content/wp-cache' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_6/lib/php') in /home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data01/25/2310925/html/wp-content/themes/newsgem/footer.php on line 1