Press "Enter" to skip to content

Boys Basketball: Fairmont 67, East Bladen 43

ELIZABETHTOWN – A 20-5 third quarter surge propelled Fairmont to a 67-43 Three Rivers Conference boys basketball victory over East Bladen Wednesday night.

Center Kobe Davis dropped in 6 early points, and teammates Cameron Sweat and Cedreke Smith bombed in 3-point shots as the Tornadoes raced to a 22-10 first quarter lead.

Photos by Kenneth Armstrong

Juniors Zach Meares and Lefrederick Wooten drained 3 point shots, and senior Juwan Baldwin and junior RaSean McKoy tossed in baskets for East Bladen in the period.

Senior Corey McKoy buried a pair of 3-point shots and another basket to spark a 15-7 Eagle rally. Wooten sank 4 free throws, and junior Jacob Priest nailed a 3-point shot as East Bladen pulled to within 29-25 at halftime.

Junior Kadeem Leonard threw in 5 points, and Davis added 4 points to spark the Tornado run that widened the gap to 49-30. RaSean McKoy popped in a basket and 2 free throws for East Bladen in the period.

Corey McKoy pumped in 2 baskets and a free throw in the final quarter for the Eagles. Junior Donevin Keith flipped in a basket and a free throw, Meares delivered a 3-point basket and Priest netted a basket.

Corey McKoy topped the Eagle scoring with 13 points. Wooten and Meares finished with 7 points each. Eagle center Javant McDowell left the game in the first period with a leg injury and did not return.

Smith led the Tornadoes with 12 points, and Davis and Leonard followed with 10 points each.

East Bladen, now 2-8 overall, will host Whiteville after the exam break on January 17.

Fairmont       22   7  20  18 – 67
East Bladen  10  15   5   13 – 43

FAIRMONT (67) – Shykeem Smith 6, Dewayne McCormick 2, Jakeem Moore 5, Chandler McNeill 2, Tyrese Bradley 2, Cameron Sweat 7, Sharron Wilson 6, Javian Manning, Kobe Davis 10, Saquan Singletary 1,Cedreke Smith 12, Jalen Brown 2, Kadeem Leonard 10.

EAST BLADEN (43) – Charles Brown, Donevin Keith 3, Tayshaun Berkeley, RaSean McKoy 4, Zach Meares 7, Javant McDowell, Corey McKoy 13, Lefrederick Wooten 7, Juwan Baldwin 2, Jacob Priest 5.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.