Spread the love

CERRO GORDO- Senior Jake Brownlee scored 27 of his game-high 33 points in the second half as West Columbus rallied for a 77-72 Three Rivers Conference boys basketball victory over West Bladen Tuesday night.

Freshman Shyron Adams connected on a pair of 3-point shots in the first quarter as the Knights battled the Vikings to a 14-14 tie. Junior Keshawn Lewis nailed a 3-point shot, junior Kerron Baldwin-Washington and senior Jonathan Robinson dropped in baskets and Tyre Boykin sank 2 free throws for West Bladen.

Junior Zack McPherson knocked down a pair of 3-point shots in the first quarter to keep West Columbus even, then tallied 8 more points in the second period.

Adams and Baldwin-Washington threw in 2 baskets each in the second period to lead a 21-14 Knight surge. Junior Jaheim Lesane nailed a 3-point shot, and senior Jimmy Williams and Lewis popped in a basket and a free throw each.

Senior Gerardo Reyes and junior Jackson Norris added a basket each, and senior Jonathan Robinson made 2 free throws as West Bladen took a 35-28 halftime lead.

Brownlee racked up 12 points in the third quarter to lead a 24-11 Viking spurt that pushed the home team ahead 52-46. Adams, Baldwin-Washington and Williams bombed in a 3-point shot each for the Knights in the period, and Adams added a 2-point basket.

Baldwin-Washington fired in a 3-point shot and 2 more baskets in the final period to finish with 16 points for the Knights. Williams netted a trio of baskets in the fourth quarter and totaled 12 points for West Bladen.

Reyes canned 2 baskets and 2 free throws in the final quarter and tallied 8 points for the Knights. Robinson dropped in a basket and a free throw to finish with 7 points, and Adams tossed in a basket in the quarter and topped the West Bladen scoring with 17 points.

Brownlee blistered the nets with 15 points in the final quarter to keep the Vikings ahead. McPherson totaled 20 points for West Columbus.

The two teams meet again Wednesday night at West Bladen.

WEST BLADEN (72) – Drew Harris, Jaheim Lesane 3, Kerron Baldwin-Washington 16, Jimmy Williams 12, Keshawn Lewis 4, Tyre Boykin 3, Shyron Adams 17, Trashawn Ballard, Gerardo Reyes 8, Jackson Norris 2, Trenton Lyons, Jonathan Robinson 7.