Spread the love


[slideshow_deploy id=’116232′]


WHITEVILLE – Whiteville pulled away with a 31-point fourth quarter explosion to defeat West Bladen 85-65 Friday night in Three Rivers Conference boys basketball action.

Junior Keshawn Lewis knocked down a pair of 3-point shots in the first quarter, and senior Jonathan Robinson powered in a pair of inside hoops as the Knights edged ahead 12-10. Freshman Shyron Adams added a basket in the period.

Junior Cameron Richardson threw in 4 baskets to lead a 24-16 Wolfpack surge in the second quarter. Teammate Phillip Powell netted 6 points in the period.

Junior Trenton Lyons nailed a pair of 3-point shots in the second quarter for the Knights, and junior Jaheim Lesane, senior Gerardo Reyes and Adams fired in one 3-point shot each to keep West Bladen within 34-28 at halftime.

Richardson racked up 7 more points for Whiteville in the third quarter, and Bradley Pridgen tacked on two baskets.

Lewis sank 3 free throws and a basket in the third period for West Bladen. Robinson dropped in a basket and 2 free throws, Lesane popped in a basket and a free throw, and senior Jimmy Williams buried a 3-point shot to keep the margin at 54-45 after 3 periods.

Senior Jatiek Martin worked inside for 4 baskets and a free throw to lead the Whiteville final quarter surge. Richardson tallied 6 points in the period, and Powell and sophmore Ty Moss added 5 points each.

Junior Kerron Baldwin-Washington drained a pair of 3-point shots in the final quarter, and Lesane connected on a 3-point shot and another basket. Williams flipped in a pair of baskets, and Adams bombed in another 3-ball.

Lewis topped the Knight scoring with 13 points. Lesane followed with 11 points, and Adams finished with 10 points. Williams and Robinson totaled 8 points each.

Richardson led the Wolfpack with 21 points, and Martin followed with 17 points. Moss finished with 12 points, and Pridgen and Powell tallied 11 points each.

West Bladen will travel to West Columbus Tuesday night.

WEST BLADEN (65) – Jaheim Lesane 11, Kerron Baldwin-Washington 6, Jimmy Williams 8, Keshawn Lewis 13, Eddie Perez-Ortiz, Shyron Adams 10, Trashawn Ballard, Gerardo Reyes 3, Trenton Lyons 6, Jonathan Robinson 8.