Bladen County's leading website for news, sports, advertising and more!

Bulldog Young Men and Young Ladies Academies mark successful year

The Bladenboro Middle School Bulldog Young Men and Young Ladies Academies marked a successful year with a special visit from Bladen County Schools Superintendent Dr. Robert Taylor and Assistant Superintendent Dr. Tanya Head. They addressed the group and reminded the students of what it takes to be successful in life. Following the talk by Dr. Taylor and Dr. Head, each participant received a certificate for completing the academy.

Dr. Taylor reminded the students of the various speakers who have addressed their group throughout the academic year offering words of encouragement and advice for the future. ¬†“What I am hoping is that you take those words of encouragement, the words of wisdom that have been shared with you and understand how you can use those words of encouragement to guide your young life,” said Dr. Taylor.

He reminded the students that their job at this point in their lives is their education. Dr. Taylor stated the students have learned valuable lessons in the Academy about being respectful and listening to others. He told the students that when they take the opportunity to take advantage of the opportunities for learning provided at Bladenboro Middle School and in high school, it will help them set the foundation for their future.

Dr. Head spoke next. “The Bulldog Academy is awesome. I had an opportunity to work with the girls and we looked at ourselves from a couple of different perspectives,” said Dr. Head.

She said the students looked at themselves individually, they discussed respect for others, and discussed taking pride in themselves and the things they do and the decisions they make.

Receiving certificates for the Young Men’s Academy were: Aaron Lewis, Steven Hester, Iyan Phillips, Mason Little, Malijah McKoy, Jemiah Ross, Xavier Spaulding, Javarrie Adams, Aaron Thompson, Gary Parker, Eric Shaw, Tayvon Smith, Walter Bealon, Deonte Lacy, Craig Williams, Jordan Porter, Jalen Wilson, Miguel Lopez, Kaiden Stanley, Xzavion Morrison, Douglas Sessoms, Jermaine Spivey and Shyron Adams.

Receiving certificates for the Young Ladies Academy were Haleigh Cain, Julia Diaz, Maggie Edwards, Alaya Gillespie, Miranda Inman, Taqura Lennon, Olivia McCarty, Erika Parnell, Anniya Phillips, Ashley Powers, Alayjah Smith, Jadde Vergara, Mary Emma Walker, Carianna Williams, Josephine Culbreth, Adrianna Evans, Aaliyah Lacy, Brandi Nowling, Morgan Taylor, Mallorie Valenta, Deidra Vereen, Mallory Bryan, Montserret Castro, Isabel Diaz, Kinley Hilburn, Sharmaria Jackson, Jenna McLean, Kayla Perry, Noria Singletary, Amerie Smith, MaKayla Townsend, Jasmin Santana, Karah Tittle and Brittany Rich.

Tags :