Press "Enter" to skip to content

Candidate Filing Closes, Bladenboro Mayoral Candidates Share Ideas 

Spread the love

By Cara Beth Lewis

Municipal elections are held every two years. This year is an election year in Bladenboro. Joey Lee Todd, Sue Elkins Hester, and David William Hales Jr. of Bladenboro are running for Mayor, according to the Bladen County Board of Elections. Citizens whose primary residence is within the corporate limits of the Town of Bladenboro and who have registered to vote may participate in the municipal elections.

Candidate filing began on July 2nd and ended on July 16th at noon.

This is a non-partisan race, so there will not be a primary election. The general election will be held on November 2nd, 2021.

Candidate Sue Elkins Hester

Hester stated, “I would like to be a working mayor for the town of Bladenboro. There are issues in the town that need to be acknowledged and taken care of as soon as possible.”

Todd shared with BladenOnline that bringing in more activities and opportunities for the children of the town is a priority for him. He added, “We want to bring more businesses into the town. Years ago, you could buy anything you needed right here in Bladenboro, and that’s what I want to be brought back.” In addition, he stated, “I want to be a voice for the people.”

Hales also shared his ideas for the town. He stated, “I am seeking office because I want to see our town grow economically. We have some major projects in the works, and I want to keep our town moving forward in the coming years. We need to make Bladenboro a place that the citizens are proud to call home.”

The Town of Bladenboro operates under the Mayor-Council form of government. The Governing Board consists of a Mayor and six Commissioners.

To view the current council in Bladenboro, click here:

Contact the Bladen County Board of Elections at 910-862-6951 or visit Bladen County’s website for instructions on how to register to vote.

Click here for Voter Registration Form.

The form may be filled out, printed, and mailed to:

Bladen County Board of Elections

PO Box 512

Elizabethtown, NC 28337

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.