Spread the love

Breaking ground of the Center for Medical Education and Research at Cape Fear Valley Health begins Thursday, January 14 on Melrose Road.

The state-of-the-art center will be the new home for Cape Fear Valley Health’s growing medical residency program, a partnership with Campbell University’s Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine. The new facility will attract residents, physicians and specialists to the area to resist the ever-increasing shortage of providers in our state.

The center, spanning five floors and 120,000 square feet, will allow the residency program to more than double in size. Up to 300 residents each year will train in the new lecture halls, classrooms and labs in the facility. Simulation labs will provide residents with hands-on, applied learning with sophisticated technology and opportunities to gain experience in clinical trials through Cape Fear Valley Health’s partnership with Carolina Institute for Clinical Research.

The facility will also house the new Neuroscience Institute that will be able to study and further treat related disorders and illnesses, such as stroke, aneurysm, brain tumor, Parkinson’s, traumatic brain injury, ALS and more. The institute will provide a full range of diagnosis, treatment, education and research so patients don’t have to travel far to get the care they need, resulting in better outcomes.

The economic impact of the center over the next 10 years is estimated to create 900 new jobs and generate over $500 million for the region.

Funding for this facility is provided by donations to Caring for the Future at Cape Fear Valley Health Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the hospital.

Viewers can watch the live stream of the groundbreaking on Cape Fear Valley Health’s Facebook page, www.facebook.com/capefearvalley, at 11 a.m.

Key dignitaries will be speaking, such as Representative John Szoka; Mike Nagowski, CEO of Cape Fear Valley Health; Charles Evans, County Commissioner; J. Bradley Creed, Ph.D., President of Campbell University and CEO of Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine; Sandra Carr-Johnson, M.D.; Charles Hayworth, M.D.; Donald Maharty, D.O.; and more


About Author