Spread the love

On Thursday, February 25, 2021, the Elizabethtown-White Lake Chamber of Commerce held their annual awards meeting virtually for the first time in its history. Executive Director Terri Dennison gave a recap of the previous year and new programs for 2021.

The brightest stars of the year were presented with awards before the meeting but were recognized once again for their achievements during the virtual session. 

On February 18, Dennison and Chamber board members presented awards to recipients at their places of business. Chamber members elected the winners. The awards are traditionally presented at the Chamber’s Annual Banquet, but COVID-19 safety precautions limited the number of people who could attend the award ceremonies.

2020 Outstanding Chamber Member – Barefoot Brew
In the picture: ( l to r): Chamber President 2021 Anne Beyer, Kayleigh Raynor, Jenna Stephenson, 2020 Chamber President Jennifer Leggett, owner Kelly Barefoot, owner Bo Barefoot, Hailey Guyton, and Cheylee Mathis

Barefoot Brew won the Outstanding Chamber Member of the Year.

The Outstanding Small Business Person Award went to Alex Munroe with Cape Fear Vineyard & Winery and Cape Fear Distillery.

2020 Outstanding Business Person – Alex Munroe
In picture (l. to r) 2021 Chamber President Anne Beyer, Alex Munroe, and 2020 Chamber President Jennifer Leggett

Bladen County Health and Human Services Director, Dr. Teresa (Terri) Duncan, received the Caring Person Award.

Caring Person Award – Dr. Teresa (Terri) Duncan
In the picture: ( l to r): County of Bladen Manager, Greg Martin, Dr. Teresa (Terri) Duncan, 2020 Chamber President Jennifer Leggett, and Chamber President 2021 Anne Beyer

Lee Greene, President of Bladen Builders Supply, received the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award.

Previously taken photo. Left to Right: Dr. Samuel Cross and Lee Greene

This year the Chamber added a new award, the Legacy Award. The award was made to recognize a person who, through the course of their employment and their day-to-day job, has supported the efforts and initiatives of the Chamber. The 2020 Legacy Award was presented to Eddie Madden, Town Manager of the Town of Elizabethtown. 

Eddie Madden receives award from 3 Chamber Presidents: Ashley Dowless (2018-19), Jennifer Leggett (2019-2020), and Anne Beyer (2021)

Mr. Alex Munroe and Mr. Eddie Madden were present during the Chamber’s virtual meeting after the awards were presented. Mr. Munroe thanked the chamber members for their support and the award during the virtual meeting. Read more about the awards and the recipients in the article Elizabethtown-White Lake Area Chamber of Commerce Announces 2020 Award Winners.

The Chamber passed the President’s gavel from Jennifer Leggett with Minuteman Food Mart to Anne Byer with Farm Bureau.

Dennison announced the new Chamber board members during the meeting. The new members are Chole Campbell with Campbell Oil Company, Jonathan Langston with White Lake Holiday Resort, and Leon Cromartie with Cromartie Enterprise, LLC. 

The Chamber members are also excited about the new changes to the elizabethtownwhitelake.com website. Dennison explained the changes would make the site interactive. Members will be allowed to make changes to their listing and to announce their upcoming news and events.

The next Chamber meeting will be held on March 16, 2021, at noon with Dawn Hughes, Plant Manager of Chemours.