• 12:14 am This Day in History for July 21
  • 12:07 am Bladen County Headlines … 35 Years Ago
  • 11:54 pm Bladen County 10U softball team to play for SWAC state title
  • 11:38 pm Bladen 12U wins 2, loses 1 in SWAC softball tournament
  • 6:07 pm Bladen County softball team reaches SWAC 16U state final

Update: Tuesday, July 9, the Bladen County Board of Elections released an updated list of candidates filing for the municipal elections before they closed their office at 5 p.m.

David Gillespie Kirby was the only new name to appear on the list. Kirby serves on the Town of Dublin Board of Commissioners.

All incumbents from the Town of Elizabethtown filed for re-election Friday as the two-week filing period opened at the Bladen Board of Elections office.

Mayor Sylvia Campbell and council members Howell Clark, Dicky Glenn and Ricky Leinwand (pictured) paid their $5 fee.

In White Lake, Jay Young and Dean Hilton filed for one of three seats on the Board of Commissioners currently held by Tom Riel, Tim Clifton and Tracey Trivette.

Elsewhere, Clarkton Mayor Arthur Whedbee and Bladenboro commissioner Gene Norton filed for re-election.

Filing will end Friday, July 19 at noon, according to the Bladen County Board of Elections office. The election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 5. Voters must be registered by Oct. 11.

Elections will be held in Bladenboro, Clarkton, Dublin, East Arcadia, Elizabethtown, Tar Heel and White Lake.

For information or questions about the elections or voting, contact the Bladen County Board of Elections at (910) 862-6951 or email elections@bladenco.org.

Here is a list of elected officials whose seats are up for re-election and non-incumbents who have filed, according to the Elections office:

Commissioners: Gene Norton (filed), Patsi Callihan, Sara Jane Benson

Mayor: Arthur Whedbee (filed)
Commissioner: Lawrence McDouglad

Mayor: Darryl Dowless
Commissioners: David Hursey and David Kirby (filed)

East Arcadia
Mayor: Perry Blanks
Commissioners: Carlee Carter, Rhonda Hall and Horace Munn

Mayor: Sylvia Campbell (filed)
Commissioners: Ricky Leinwand (filed), Howell Clark (filed) and Dicky Glenn (filed)

Tar Heel
Mayor: Roy Dew
Commissioners: Sam Allen, Michael Underwood and Angie Hall

White Lake
Mayor: Goldston Womble
Commissioners: Tom Riel, Tim Clifton and Tracey Trivette
Non-incumbents who have filed: Jay Young and Dean Hilton

Voter ID seminar

The Bladen County Board of Elections has scheduled a voter photo identification requirements and election education at 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. on Thursday, July 18 at the Bladen Community College auditorium.

Beginning in 2020, voters will be required to provide photo identification before they vote. This includes both in-person and by-mail voting, with some exceptions.

In November 2018, North Carolina voters approved an amendment to the N.C. Constitution to require voters to present photo ID at the polls.

U.S. House District 9 election

The election to fill the U.S. House District 9 seat is scheduled for Sept. 10. There will three candidates on the ballot: Republican Dan Bishop, Democrat Dan McCready, Libertarian Jeff Scott and Green Party candidate Allen Smith.

To vote in the election, a person must be registered by Aug. 16.

There will be two one-stop locations for the special election.

1. The Bladen County Board of Elections at 301 S. Cypress St. Elizabethtown, NC.
Wednesday, August 21 – Saturday, August 24
Monday, August 26 – Saturday, August 31
Tuesday, September 3 – Friday, September 6
8:30 am – 5:00 pm

2. Tar Heel Municipal Bldg. at 14867 NC 87 Hwy. W. Tar Heel, NC.
Wednesday, August 21 – Saturday, August 24
Monday, August 26 – Saturday, August 31
Tuesday, September 3 – Friday, September 6
10:30 am – 7:00 pm

There will be no voting on Sundays or Labor Day.

Elections Board meeting

The Bladen County Board of Elections is scheduled to meet Tuesday, July 9 at 5 p.m. at its office at 301 South Cypress Street in Elizabethtown, according to chairwoman Louella P. Thompson.