Press "Enter" to skip to content

Governor Cooper Announces Judicial Appointments

New Judges Will Serve Duplin, Jones, Onslow, Sampson, Randolph, Hoke and Moore Counties

RALEIGH: Governor Roy Cooper has appointed three new judges to serve Duplin, Jones, Onslow, Sampson, Randolph, Hoke and Moore counties.

“District court judges play a critical role in our justice system and I believe these appointees will serve our state and its people with distinction,” said Gov. Cooper.

In Judicial District 4 serving Duplin, Jones, Onslow and Sampson counties, Gov. Cooper appointed Timothy Smith of Kenansville as District Court Judge. Smith will fill the vacant seat of the Honorable Henry L. Stevens upon his election to Superior Court Judge. Since 2000, Smith has been a partner at Smith & Blizzard, P.A., specializing in criminal defense and personal injury. Smith previously served as chair of the Duplin County Board of Commissioners and East Carolina Counsel. Smith obtained his Bachelor of Science at East Carolina University and his Juris Doctor at Campbell University.

In Judicial District 19B serving Randolph County, Gov. Cooper appointed J. Brooke Schmidly of Asheboro as District Court Judge. Schmidly will fill the vacancy created by the Honorable James P. Hill upon his election as Superior Court Judge. Since 2011, Schmidly has been a partner at Moser, Schmidly, Roose & Bennett practicing civil litigation. She served previously in the United States Air Force as an Active Duty Air Force Judge Advocate and then an Assistant Staff Judge Advocate. Schmidly received her Bachelor of Arts at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and her Juris Doctor at the University of Houston Law Center.

In Judicial District 19D serving Hoke and Moore counties, Gov. Cooper appointed Tiffany Bartholomew of Pinehurst as District Court Judge. Bartholomew will fill the vacant seat created by the election of the Honorable Michael A. Stone as Superior Court Judge. Since 2009, Bartholomew has served as an Assistant District Attorney for Moore County, specializing in s ex crimes and domestic violence cases. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts at the University of Hawaii-West Oahu and received her Juris Doctor from the Georgia State University College of Law.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.