From Bladen County Schools
Executive Order 156, dated August 12, provides an extension to North Carolina’s proof-of-immunization requirement deadlines for students enrolled in public, private, or religious educational institutions, including childcare facilities, K-12 schools, and colleges and universities.
North Carolina G.S. 130A-155(a) requires proof of required immunizations within 30 days of the first date of attendance of school. Executive Order 156 extends the 30-day ‘grace period’ for all students to begin on October 1 or the child’s first date of attendance, if that happens after October 1.
The immunization requirements apply to all children in North Carolina, regardless of the type of school setting, whether children are home-schooled or attend school in-person or by remote learning, they are required by state law to be immunized based on their age for certain vaccinations as recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Families are strongly encouraged to obtain the appropriate immunizations on a timely basis. The temporary extension of immunization deadlines will provide needed flexibility for families and immunization providers to work together to ensure that all children in North Carolina are properly protected against all vaccine-preventable diseases during the 2020-21 school year.
If a certificate of immunization is not presented by October 1 (or the child’s first date of attendance if after October 1), the principal or operator shall give a notice of deficiency to the parent, guardian, or responsible person. The parent, guardian, or responsible person shall then have 30 calendar days to obtain the required immunization(s) for the child.
If a child or adolescent does not have the appropriate documentation after 30 calendar days, the student shall be excluded from school (including in-person and remote learning) until compliant with the requirements.
Immunizations required for entry into Kindergarten, 7th grade, and 12th grade, can be found at the following link: K-12.
Effective August 1, a booster dose of Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MenACWY) to protect against meningococcal disease is required for all students entering the 12th grade or by 17 years of age, whichever comes first.
Click here to view the immunization schedule for Prek-12 studentsShare: