Press "Enter" to skip to content

Last Day to File for Bladen County Election Brought New Candidate for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Seat

Yesterday, July 6, was the last day to file for the Bladen County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor election. There are now three candidates for the local supervisor’s election.

Joseph Dawson Singletary from Bladenboro was the first to register for the Bladen County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor seat on June 10, 2020.

Next on the candidate list was Edward Robert Hester, who is also from Bladenboro. On the last day to file, Leslie McCrae Dowless, Jr. with an Elizabethtown addressed filed for the supervisor’s position.

According to the county’s website, The Bladen Soil and Water Conservation District is an Agency of the State of North Carolina organized to exercise public powers conferred under the provision of the Soil and Water Conservation District Laws of North Carolina. The District’s purpose is to protect and promote its people’s health, safety, and general welfare by conserving the soil, water, and related natural resources within the District. The District boundaries are the same as Bladen County.

Currently, the district supervisors are Chairman, Willie Beard, Vice Chairman, McCrae Dowless, Secretary/Treasurer, Charles Gillespie, and Members-at-large, Albert Beatty, and Earl Storms, according to the county’s website. The agency staff members are Robert Dean Morris, Department Head/Natural Resources Conservationist, Kenneth “Chip” Campbell, Resource Conservationist, and Karen Davis, Administrative Assistant/Education Coordinator.

The agency meets the second Tuesday of each month at 8 am in the McDuffie Room at the Powell Melvin Ag Center.

The Bladen County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor election will be held during the General Election on November 3, 2020.

Others seeking seats in Bladen County during the General Election are as follows:

Bladen County Board of Commissioners candidates are as follows.

County-wide seat:

Billy Ray Britt

George Michael Cogdell

Mark Anthony Gillespie

David Richard Gooden

Gregory Nathan Taylor

District 01:

Ophelia Munn-Goins

Ricky Lynn Price

District 02:

Kenneth Rodney Hester

District 03:

Danny Lee Ellis

James Graham Smith

Bladen County Board of Education candidates are as follows.

District 01:

Glenn Coatney McKoy

District 02:

Curtis Timothy Benton

Berry Leonard Lewis

District 03:

Christopher Vance Clark

The Bladen County Board of Elections is currently working on One-Stop Voting plans and Election Poll Workers. The next Bladen County Board of Elections meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 5 p.m. at 301 S. Cypress Street in Elizabethtown.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.