• 11:57 am Bladen’s Best of the Best for 2019
  • 11:35 am Updated news about Bladen County Election Investigations
  • 7:49 am Thoughts While Shaving
  • 7:44 am Middle School Boys Basketball Whiteville Central 52, Clarkton School of Discovery 20
  • 7:43 am Middle School Boys Basketball Elizabethtown 44, Bladenboro 42
  • 7:40 am Middle School Basketball Hallsboro Sweeps Tar Heel
  • 12:44 am Middle School Girls Basketball: Bladenboro 28, Elizabethtown 21


The 55th Annual Resource Conservation Workshop was held June 24-29, at NC State University.  Ninety-one high school students from across North Carolina, including Khalil McKoy, a student from East Bladen High School, were recommended by their local soil and water conservation districts and participated in the six day camp that included studies in soil science; water, wildlife, recreation and fish management; forestry and forestry management; and soil and water conservation.  The camp culminated in a celebration of knowledge exam that determined the following five high score place winners.  Eight outstanding students were recommended by counseling staff to be interviewed for two additional awards.

2018 Resource Conservation Workshop Winners

1st Place—-Margaret Johnson, Chatham SWCD—-$500.00 scholarship plus $100.00 cash

2nd Place—-Kaitlin Moore, Haywood SWCD—$275.00 scholarship plus $100.00 cash

3rd Place—-Kaylyn Burnham, Camden SWCD—–$100.00 cash

4th Place—-Patrick Deegan, Chatham SWCD—–$75.00 cash

5th Place—-Landon Aldridge, Catawba SWCD—-$50.00 cash

S. Grady Lane Scholarship—-Maggie Thomas, Union SWCD–$500.00 scholarship plus $100

DEA Scholarship—-Kahlil MCoy, Bladen SWCD—–$1,000.00 scholarship

Area 1 Glen Carson Award—-Kaitlin Moore, Haywood SWCD—-$250.00 cash

S. Grady Lane Nominee Finalists – S. Grady Lane, former Division Director, helped start RCW.  Students are recommended by counseling staff for scholarship interviews on the basis of citizenship, leadership, and demeanor.

Julia Bachman – Dare SWCD

Grace Gooding – Davidson SWCD

Steven Hogan – Cumberland SWCD

Khalil McKoy – Bladen SWCD

Duncan McSorley – Wake SWCD

Kaitlin Moore – Haywood SWCD

Maggie Thomas – Union SWCD

Grayson Whitt – Catawba SWCD

More information about the scholarship selection process:

District Employee’s Association Award:  Amount of Award:  $1,000.00 college scholarship; selection criteria:

*Student interested in subject matter, not only respecting and responding to teachers but also participating in activities;

*Student planning for higher education in field of Natural Resources, Environment Science or other related subject;

*Student must achieve a satisfactory grade (at least 75%) on the final examination administered at the RCW;

*Preference will be given to a student who is related to a Soil and Water Conservation District employee;

*Student may have financial need.


S. Grady Lane Award:  Purpose: to provide financial support to a student participating in the RCW when he/she enrolls in an accredited college/university.  The scholarship is designed to perpetuate the high standards of personal conduct, dedication, loyalty and integrity exemplified by Mr. S. Grady Lane.  The amount of Award:  $100 cash and $500 college scholarship; election criteria:

*Student must be interested in soil and water conservation and have intent to pursue a course of study in discipline pertaining to soil and water conservation;

*Student must achieve a satisfactory grade (at least 75%) on the final examination administered at the RCW;

* Student must demonstrate interest, cooperation, a positive attitude, and excellent behavior throughout the RCW;

*Preference will be given to a student whose family is currently active in a soil and water conservation district;

*Student must have financial need.


Glen Carson Scholarship:  Purpose: to memorialize Glen Carson, a Soil and Water Conservation District employee and a Natural Resources Conservation Service employee in Cherokee County.

* Student must be the highest scoring student from NCASWCD Area 1.

The workshop is sponsored and organized by the N. C. Division of Soil and Water Conservation, the N. C. Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts, the Hugh Hammond Bennett Chapter of the Soil and Water Conservation Society, and N. C. State University’s Soil Science Department and the McKimmon Center for Extension and Continuing Education.

Congratulations are extended to Khalil for winning the District Employees’ Association scholarship and for being a finalist for the S. Grady Lane Scholarship.  Pictured with Khalil is Earl Miller, an agriculture instructor from East Bladen High School, who served as a counselor for the workshop.