• 11:57 am Bladen’s Best of the Best for 2019
  • 11:35 am Updated news about Bladen County Election Investigations
  • 11:11 pm Applications for Boost the Boro Scholarship Announced
  • 11:08 pm Former Poet Laureate of North Carolina to Speak at BCC
  • 11:02 pm This Day in History – March 23
  • 5:28 pm Celebrating Ms. Shelby Patrick and Ms. Berline Graham
  • 5:11 pm Special election estimated to cost Bladen County tens of thousands

ELIZABETHTOWN – Malcolm Bolden lit up the scoreboard with 27 points Monday night to lead Elizabethtown to a 57-34 Waccamaw Middle School Conference boys basketball victory over Clarkton School of Discovery.

Bolden netted 2 baskets in the first quarter, and Zamar Lewis sank 3 free throws as the Cougars edged ahead 9-7. Shannon Hankins drained a 3-point shot and another basket to keep the Blue Devils close.

Bolden poured in 5 baskets to spark a 19-9 Cougar spurt in the second period. Lewis tossed in 2 baskets as Elizabethtown took a 28-16 halftime lead.

Samaj Dove pumped in 2 baskets and a free throw, and NyQuan Richardson added 2 baskets for the Blue Devils in the quarter.

Bolden delivered four more baskets in the third quarter, Peyton Tatum threw in 2 baskets, and Phillip McKiver drilled in a 3-point shot as the Cougar lead stretched to 47-28 at the quarter break.

Lafon Monroe connected for 2 baskets in the third quarter for CSD, and Richardson buried a 3-point shot.

Bolden rang up 2 more baskets and a free throw in the final period for the Cougars, and Yontee Dobson popped in a basket and a free throw. Richardson scored 2 baskets for the Blue Devils in the quarter.

Lewis finished with 7 points for Elizabethtown, and Phillip McKiver totaled 6 points. Richardson led Clarkton with 13 points, and Monroe tallied 6 points.

Clarkton             7    9  12    6 – 34
Elizabethtown  9  19  19  10 – 57

CLARKTON SCHOOL OF DISCOVERY (34) –Shannon Hankins 5, Matthew Kemp, Lee Barnes 3, Lafon Monroe 6, Aniyaes Bethea, Martin Rojas-Jacinto, Rodney Lacewell, Jonathan Johnson, Corey Robbins 2, Samaj Dove 5, NyQuan Richardson 13.

ELIZABETHTOWN (57) – Phillip McKiver 6, Cameron White 2, Yontee Dobson 3, Jacob Nixon 4, Malcolm Bolden 27, Dominick Collins 2, Peyton Tatum 4, J’Marius Smith, Zamar Lewis 7, Taran McNeil, Tyreon Graham, Zach Metz.