Press "Enter" to skip to content

Middle School Boys Basketball: Elizabethtown 53, Tar Heel 36

Majuan McKoy and Jordan Robinson combined for 36 points to lead Elizabethtown to a 53-36 Bladen Five Middle School Conference boys basketball victory at Tar Heel Thursday night.

Guard JaQuez McKoy fired in a 3-point shot, and Robinson tossed in a basket and 2 free throws in the opening quarter. Majuan McKoy and Cory McKoy added baskets, and Allen Owens hit 2 free throws as the Cougars took a 13-8 first quarter lead.

Tyre Boykin threw in a trio of first quarter baskets, and Shemaiah Leak put in another bucket to keep Tar Heel close.

Majuan McKoy drained a 3-point shot and made 2 free throws and a 2-point basket in the second period. Robinson netted 2 baskets and drilled a 3-point shot in the quarter as the Cougars rode a 16-8 run to a 29-16 halftime lead.

Kendall Johnson and Leak pumped in 2 baskets each in the second quarter for Tar Heel.

Majuan McKoy delivered a trio of baskets and made 3 free throws for 9 third period points that kept Elizabethtown ahead 41-27 at the quarter break. Cory McKoy tacked on a Cougar basket in the period.

Boykin tallied 2 baskets and a trio of free throws for Tar Heel in the quarter, and Tar Heel’s Jadicus Register bombed in a 3-point shot.

Robinson and Zarion Brown dropped in 2 baskets each in the final period for the Cougars. Fred Wooten and Majuan McKoy chipped in with a basket each.

Boykin made a trio of free throws and one basket for Tar Heel in the final quarter. Leak and Register had one basket each in the period.

Majuan McKoy led all scorers with 20 points, and Robinson followed with 16 points for the Cougars. Cory McKoy and Brown had 4 points each.

Boykin topped the Panther scoring with 18 points, and Leak followed with 8 points. Register and Johnson contributed 5 points each.

Elizabethtown improved to 4-1 with the victory and will travel to East Arcadia Tuesday for a 4 p.m. game.

Elizabethtown (53) – Majuan McKoy 20, Jordan Robinson 16, Allen Owens 2, Nijeah McKoy, Tyrek Smith, Cory McKoy 4, Cody Butler, Zachary Butler, Rasean McKoy 2, Fred Wooten 2, JaQuez McKoy 3, Drew Sholar, Victor Garcia, Zarion Brown 4.

TH (36) – Kendall Johnson 5, Kai Belle, Jadicus Register 5, Shemaiah Leak 8, Tyre Boykin 18, Christopher George,  Kasheem Henry, Angel Martinez-Munoz.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.