Press "Enter" to skip to content

Middle School Boys Basketball: Tar Heel 33, Clarkton School of Discovery 30

CLARKTON – Kearean Ballard lit up the scoreboard with 17 points Thursday night to lead Tar Heel to a 33-30 Waccamaw Middle School Conference boys basketball victory over Clarkton School of Discovery.

Nyquan Richardson nailed a 3-point shot, and Lafon Monroe and Aniyaes Bethea netted baskets as Clarkton took a 7-4 first quarter lead. Ballard and Ahmir Stepps dropped in baskets for Tar Heel in the period.

Ballard sank a trio of free throws and a basket in the second quarter, and Stepps and Ikeir Murchison tossed in baskets. Lee Barnes popped in a basket and a free throw for the Blue Devils, and Monroe, Richardson and Matt Kemp threw in baskets to keep CSD on top 16-13 at halftime.

A 10-4 Panther rally in the third quarter was sparked by 3 baskets and a free throw from Ballard. Murchison pumped in a basket and a free throw as Tar Heel took a 23-20 lead. Samaj Dove and Richardson scored baskets for the Blue Devils.

Stepps connected for 2 baskets in the final period, Jordan Underwood canned a basket and a free throw, and Ballard buried a 3-point shot to keep the Panthers on top.

Dove delivered a 3-pointer and another basket in the fourth quarter for the Blue Devils. Barnes and Rodney Lacewell contributed a basket each, and Richardson hit a free throw.

Stepps finished with 8 points for the Panthers, and Murchison followed with 5 points. Richardson led the Blue Devils with 8 points, and Dove followed with 7 points. Barnes finished with 5 points.

Coach Priscilla Council’s Panthers improved to 3-7 and will host Hallsboro Monday. Clarkton is also 3-7 on the season and will host Nakina Monday.

Tar Heel   4  9  10  10 – 33
Clarkton  7  9    4  10 – 30

TAR HEEL (33) – Ikeir Murchison 5, Kearean Ballard 17, Jordan Underwood 3, Stefane Jessup, Ahmir Stepps 8, Saquan Lewis, Cameron Page, Tyrek Ballard, Messyah Whitted.

CLARKTON SCHOOL OF DISCOVERY (30) –Shannon Hankins, Matt Kemp 2, Lee Barnes 5, Aniyaes Bethea 2, Martin Rojas-Jacinto, Rodney Lacewell 2, Corey Robbins, Samaj Dove 7, Nyquan Richardson 8, Lafon Monroe 4.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.