Press "Enter" to skip to content

Middle School Boys Basketball: Tar Heel 57, East Arcadia 29

Photos by Kenneth Armstrong

Tyre Boykin and Shemaiah Leak combined for 24 first half points to lead Tar Heel to a 28-12 halftime lead and eventual 57-29 victory over East Arcadia in the opening round of the Bladen Five Middle School Conference Tournament Monday night at Bladenboro.

Boykin threw in a trio of baskets in the first quarter and Leak added 2 baskets and a free throw as Tar Heel jumped in front 11-6. Kasey Price pumped in 2 baskets for East Arcadia in the period, and Sterling Thomas and Charles Brown made one free throw each.

Boykin took charge in the second quarter blistering the nets for four Tar Heel baskets. Leak chipped in with 2 baskets and a free throw, and teammates Kendall Johnson and Christopher George dropped in a basket each.

Price knocked down 2 free throws and a basket for East Arcadia, and Thomas tallied one basket in the quarter.

Boykin kept the pressure on by racking up 3 third-period baskets for Tar Heel. Johnson delivered a pair of buckets in the quarter, and Leak and Jadicus Register netted a basket each as Tar Heel padded the lead to 44-22.

Johnson tacked on 3 more baskets in the final quarter for Tar Heel. Register bombed in a 3-point shot, and Boykin and Angel Martinez-Munoz scored baskets.

Price hit 2 free throws and a field goal in the final quarter. Dixon scored a basket, and Cody Long made a free throw.

Boykin topped all scorers with 21 points for Tar Heel. Leak finished with 13 points, and Johnson followed with 12 points. Register collected 5 points.

Price led East Arcadia with 17 points. Brown and Dixon followed with 4 points each.

Tar Heel advanced to a Tuesday night game against top seed Elizabethtown. The East Arcadia Panthers concluded their season.

EA (29) – Sterling Thomas 3, Kasey Price 17, Charles Brown 4, Charles Dixon 4, Corey Carter, Cody Long 1.

TH (57) – Shemaiah Leak 13, Kendall Johnson 12, Kai Belle, Jadicus Register 5, Tyre Boykin 21, Christopher George 2, Angel Martinez-Munoz 2.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.