Press "Enter" to skip to content

Updated- More Than 500 Ballots Cast In Municipal Elections’ Early Voting Period

Spread the love

There were 509 ballots by Elizabethtown and White Lake voters during the one-stop voting period that concluded Saturday afternoon, according to the Bladen County Board of Elections office.

Elizabethtown and White Lake were the only Bladen County municipalities that opted for early voting. Voting was held at the Board of Elections office in Elizabethtown.

Voters in those two municipalities along with voters in Bladenboro, Clarkton, Dublin, East Arcadia and Tar Heel will vote for their community leaders Tuesday. Polls open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. Bladen Online will provide election results Tuesday night.

Bladenboro voters will select a new mayor to replace Rufus Duckworth, who chose not to run. Sue Elkins Hester, Joey Todd and David Hales are running for the seat. Also, incumbent commissioners Lisa Levy, Gregory Sykes and Jeff Atkinson are joined by former town administrator Blake Proctor running for three seats on the board.

In Clarkton, commissioners Stephen Wayne Hester and Jerome Myers are running unchallenged.

In Dublin, Mayor Alex Hursey and Commissioner Jeffrey Smith are unchallenged.

In East Arcadia, Commissioner Pamela Graham is unchallenged.

In Elizabethtown, incumbent commissioners Paula Greene, Herman Lewis and Rufus Lloyd along with challengers Harfel Davis, Ilka Huntley McElveen and William Moore are vying for three seats on the Town Council. Also, Rich Glenn, who was appointed to the board following the death of his father, Dickie Glenn, is running to fill the unexpired term.

Tar Heel Mayor Sam Allen is running unchallenged as is Commissioner Steve Dowless.

In White Lake, commissioners Tim Blunt, Paul Evans and Mike Suggs are running unchallenged.


Here is a list of places to vote for Tuesday’s municipal elections:

Bethel precinct, Dublin Community Center, 120 2nd St., Dublin.

Bladenboro No. 1 will be voting at Historical Building, 818 S. Main St., Bladenboro.

Update- Bladenboro No. 2 will be voting at Spaulding Monroe, 508 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr., Bladenboro.

Brown Marsh precincts, Town Hall, 81 N. Elm St., Clarkton.

Carvers Creek precinct, Town Hall, 1516 East Arcadia Rd., Riegelwood.

Colly precinct, Fire Dept., 1879 White Lake Dr., White Lake.

Elizabethtown No. 1 precinct, Bladen County Recreation Dept. Gym, 803 W. King St., Elizabethtown.

Elizabethtown No. 2 precinct, Powell-Melvin Agricultural Service Center, 450 Smith Cirle, Elizabethtown.

Hollow precinct, Municipal Building, 14867 NC 87 Hwy. W., Tar Heel.