Press "Enter" to skip to content

Municipal election candidates set for November vote

Four people filed Friday morning for a seat on the Elizabethtown Town Council to challenge the three incumbents as municipal slates were set for November’s elections.

Crystal Lewis Crumb, Mary M. McMillian, Jessica McKoy Wilson and Debbie Heyward will be joined on the ballot by Elizabethtown councilmen Howell Clark, Dicky Glenn and Ricky Leinwand for the three available seats, according to the Bladen County Board of Elections.

Also filing Friday were Claudette Lewis Guy for Bladenboro commissioner, Tar Heel Mayor Roy Dew and Tar Heel commissioner Sam Allen. Three seats are open on the Tar Heel board.

Guy will run for one of three seats on the Bladenboro board against incumbents Patsi Callihan, Gene Norton and Sarah Jane Benson along with challengers Joey Todd, Stephanie A. Thurman and John (Mac) Bowen.

White Lake will have contests for mayor and three seats on the Board of Commissioners. Incumbent H. Goldston Womble Jr. will be opposed by Gray Marshburn in the mayoral race. Incumbents Tim Clifton and Tom Riel will be joined on the ballot by challengers Jay Young and Dean C. Hilton for three open seats. Incumbent Tracey Trivette did not file for re-election.

Clarkton commissioner Lawrence McDouglad did not file for re-election. Linda Croom is the lone candidate for the seat.

The election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 5. Voters must be registered by Oct. 11.

Elections will be held in Bladenboro, Clarkton, Dublin, East Arcadia, Elizabethtown, Tar Heel and White Lake.

For information or questions about the elections or voting, contact the Bladen County Board of Elections at (910) 862-6951 or email

Here is a list of candidates. (i) means incumbent.

Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Gene Norton, (i) Patsi Callihan, (i) Sara Jane Benson, Joey Todd, Stephanie A. Thurman, John (Mac) Bowen and Claudette Lewis Guy.

Mayor: (i) Arthur Whedbee, Tim Tart and Jon Hall.
Commissioner (1 seat): Linda Croom

Mayor: (i) Darryl Dowless.
Commissioners (2 seats): (i) David Hursey and (i) David Kirby.

East Arcadia
Mayor: (i) Perry Blanks.
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Carlee Carter, (i) Rhonda Hall and (i) Horace Munn.

Mayor: (i) Sylvia Campbell.
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Ricky Leinwand, (i) Howell Clark, (i) Dicky Glenn, Crysal Lewis Crumb, Mary A. McMillian, Jessica McKoy Wilson and Debbie Heyward.

Tar Heel
Mayor: (i) Roy Dew
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Sam Allen.

White Lake
Mayor: (i) Goldston Womble and Gray Marshburn.
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Tom Riel, (i) Tim Clifton, Jay Young and Dean Hilton.

Related article:

Update: Incumbent mayor of White Lake faces newcomer to the election race

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.