Spread the love

The N.C. High School Athletic Association released average daily membership numbers for football from the State Department of Public Instruction on Friday.

The figures are used to subdivide the four classifications for the upcoming state football playoffs. First round playoff games are scheduled Nov. 13. The NCHSAA determines the 64 teams in each classification that qualify for the playoffs, then the 32 largest schools based on ADMs go to the AA playoffs while the 32 smallest schools go to the A playoffs.

Here are ADMs figures for area conferences. The numbers have been adjusted to reflect local assignment policies relative to early colleges, middle colleges, etc.

ADMs used for the 2011 conference realignment showed East Davidson as the largest 2A school with an enrollment of 996 and Midway the smallest with 668. In 2011, East Bladen’s enrollment was 708 and West Bladen’s was 812. In 1A in 2011, Whiteville was the largest school with 667 students and Creswell was the smallest football-playing school with 97.

Four County 1A/2A
Clinton (2A) … 888
West Bladen (2A) … 793
Midway (2A) … 745
Heide Trask (1A) … 713
Wallace-Rose Hill (1A) … 673
East Bladen (2A) … 656
Pender (1A) … 601
Union (1A) … 545

Three Rivers 1A/2A
St. Pauls (2A) … 967
South Columbus (2A) … 798
Red Springs (2A) … 787
Fairmont (2A) … 734
Whiteville (1A) … 700
South Robeson (1A) … 501
West Columbus (1A) … 498
East Columbus (1A) … 443

To share on social media, use https://bladencounty.org/?p=31555