Bladen County's leading website for news, sports, advertising and more!

New Chairmen in county

By: Charlotte Smith

December has brought changes to the Bladen County Board of Commissioners. The board held their elections for Chairman and Vice Chairman of the board on Monday evening, December 4th, 2017.

Without any heated debate or discussions the current Chairman, Charles Ray Peterson was nominated and the current Vice Chairman Ray Britt were nominated for the board’s Chairman seat. Ray Britt won Chairman of the board in a five to four vote.

Next up was the vote for Vice Chairman. Michael G. Cogdell was nominated as well as Ashley S. Trivette for the Vice Chairman position. Cogdell won the Vice Chairman election in a five to four vote.

After the new positions were taken, newly elected Chairman, Ray Britt asked Rev. Larry Hayes to pray for the board and the county. After the prayer by Hayes, Britt spoke about the elected officials working together no matter where they stand on party lines.

View the video:



Tags :