Press "Enter" to skip to content

Slammers Are Bladen Recreation 13-16 Softball Champs

Spread the love

The Slammers completed an undefeated season Tuesday night with an 18-2 victory over the Comets at County Park. The Slammers are the Bladen Recreation 13-16 Softball League champions.

The Slammers jumped in front with 8 runs in the first inning. Abbie Cross led off the game with a walk, and Johanna Parker walloped a triple that scored Cross. Izzy Smith slapped a single through the middle that plated Parker.

Nesiah Davis-McKoy walked, and Kirsten Starkloff cracked a single that scored Smith. Davis-McKoy dashed home on a wild pitch, and Alayna Weeks belted a single that scored Starkloff.

Gracyn Martin and Adrienne Howell drew walks, before Jordan Kinlaw smacked a single that plated Martin. Cybil Campbell was hit by a pitch, and Ruth Ward walked to force home Howell.

Demeary Britt and Olivia Hollingsworth drew walks to start the Comet first inning. Hannah Hill lined a single to centerfield that scored Demeary Britt.

Weeks was hit by a pitch and Martin walked to start the Slammer third inning. Kinlaw’s fielder’s choice scored Weeks, Campbell was hit by a pitch and Majesti Corbett and Ward drew walks to force home Martin and pad the lead to 10-1.

Cross laced a single to leftfield to start the Slammer fourth inning. Parker hammered a triple that scored Cross. Smith swatted a single that drove in Parker. Davis-McKoy, Starkloff and Weeks drew walks, and Martin was hit by a pitch to force home Davis-McKoy.

Howell’s fielder’s choice scored Starkloff. Kinlaw, Campbell, Corbett and Ward drew walks that forced home Weeks, Martin, and Kinlaw. Weslyn Hall was hit by a pitch that forced home Campbell.

Katie Britt smacked a single to start the Comet fourth. Brianna Hales reached base on catcher’s interference, and Halie Mason was hit by a pitch. Demeary Britt delivered a single that scored Katie Britt.

Parker slugged the two triples and drove in 2 runs to lead the Slammers. Smith batted 2-3 with 2 runs batted in. Kinlaw, Cross, Starkloff, and Weeks connected for one hit each. Ward drove in 3 runs. Kinlaw drove in 2 runs, and Starkloff, Weeks, Martin, Howell, Campbell, Corbett and Hall had one rbi each.

Demeary Britt, Katie Britt and Hannah Hill cracked one hit each for the Comets. Hill and Demeary Britt drove in one run each.

Kinlaw pitched all 4 innings and struck out three to pick up the win for the Slammers.

Members of the Slammers championship team are Abbie Cross, Johanna Parker, Izzy Smith, Nesiah Davis-McKoy, Kirsten Starkloff, Alayna Weeks, Gracyn Martin, Adrienne Howell, Jordan Kinlaw, Cybil Campbell, Majesti Corbett, Ruth Ward, Weslyn Hall and Jaya Howell. Coaches are Robert Mazur, Jordan Raynor and Brian Campbell.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.