Bladen County's leading website for news, sports, advertising and more!

Some towns will get new faces on boards after municipal elections

  • 11/08/2017
  • News
  • No Comments

By Erin Smith

Some towns will see new faces on their town boards following Tuesday’s elections results. New members will be joining boards in Clarkton and Bladenboro.

In Clarkton, incumbent Jerome Myers will be joined on the town board by newcomer Stephen Wayne Hester. Myers received 73 votes, Hester received 63 votes, Linda Gaskins received 59 votes, incumbent Tim Tart received 26 votes and Jimmy Hudson received 17 votes. There was a write-in.

In the Bladenboro race for mayor, incumbent Rufus Duckworth received 176 votes, Larry Simmons received 126 votes and Kenneth Kelly received 32 votes. There were no write-in votes.

Also, in Bladenboro, incumbent Town Commissioner Jeff Atkinson will be joined by two new members – Rodney Hester and Greg Sykes. Atkinson received 271 votes, Hester received 276 votes, Sykes received 176 votes and incumbent Billy Ray Benson received 147 votes. There was one write-in vote.

In Dublin, for mayor, Daryl Dowless defeated Alex Hursey, 69 votes to 41 votes. There were five write-in votes. In the Town Commissioners race, Jeff Smith defeated Richard Sibbett, 60 votes to 51 votes. There were two write-in votes.

In the Elizabethtown Town Council race, incumbents fared well with all three keeping their seats. Paula Greene received 409 votes, Robert “Bobby” Kinlaw received 308 votes, Herman Lewis received 332 votes, and Rufus Lloyd received 374 votes. There were three write-ins.

Kinlaw said, “I feel like it was a good campaign.” He also expressed disappointment at the low voter turnout for the municipal election.

In the Tar Heel mayor’s race, incumbent Roy Dew received 7 votes and in the Town Commissioners race, Sam Allen received 7 votes and Angie Hall received 7 votes and there were four write-in votes.

In the race for White Lake Town Commissioner, incumbents Tim Blount, Paul Evans, and Mike Suggs ran unopposed. Blount received 59 votes, Evans received 62 votes, and Suggs received 56 votes and there were 8 write-ins.

In the East Arcadia Town Commissioner race, incumbents Lillian Graham and Pamela Graham ran unopposed. Lillian Graham received 38 votes and Pamela Graham received 35 votes and there was one write-in vote.

In Dublin, voters spoke loudly on the issue of beer and wine sales.

** For the sale of on-premises malt beverages, there were 75 votes for and 38 against.

** For the sale of off-premises malt beverages, there were 78 votes for and 36 votes against.

** For the sale of unfortified wine on-premises, there were 79 votes for and 36 against.

** For the sale of unfortified wine off-premises, there were 79 votes for and 36 votes against.

Tags : |