Spread the love

NC-SoutheasternAs an economic development organization representing 16 counties in southeastern North Carolina, The Southeastern Partnership is committed to building infrastructure and job-creation capacity for our region.  As such, we are confirming our full support for the CSX Transportation’s Central Carolina Connector (CCX) intermodal terminal.

Once operational, CCX will be unlike any facility that exists in the southeastern U.S.  CCX will be a true “connector” within the CSX railroad system, providing unparalleled access to the national transportation network. This will empower businesses in our communities to move their products more quickly and efficiently, spurring business growth, job creation and economic investment. Our region’s appeal as a destination for distribution centers, warehouse operations and logistics companies will be significantly and immediately elevated.

CCX will also be an enormous benefit for the Port of Wilmington, a vital gateway that connects our region’s business community to the global marketplace. CCX will provide the port with intermodal rail capacity, driving expanded international shipping options and further fueling business development and job growth in Greater Wilmington and across southeastern North Carolina.

“Our organization views CCX as an historic economic opportunity that should not be ignored,” said Jeff Etheridge, chairman of The Southeastern Partnership. “We encourage our business and community leaders to voice their support for this one-of-a-kind opportunity.”

A public-private partnership headquartered in Elizabethtown, N.C., The Southeastern Partnership collaborates with the private sector and county governments in seeking to “provide strong economic development leadership in southeastern North Carolina through innovative marketing and collaborative regional initiatives that will support the creation of new jobs, generate capital investment, and secure new business locations.” Member counties include Anson, Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Duplin, Hoke, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland and Wayne.

For additional information, visit www.ncse.org.