Press "Enter" to skip to content

State Highway Patrol Employees and Citizens Receive Departmental Awards

Spread the love

RALEIGH – Colonel Bill Grey, commander of the North Carolina State Highway Patrol, and Frank L. Perry, Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, presented several members and citizens with awards in a ceremony today.  The awards given included the State Highway Patrol Award of Valor, Purple Heart Award, Meritorious Service Award, Samaritan Award, Humanitarian Service Award and the Appreciation Award.

“This ceremony provides an opportunity to highlight the unwavering commitment demonstrated by our members both sworn and civilian,” said Colonel Bill Grey, commander of the State Highway Patrol. “I am proud that our members display such unselfish service to the citizens of our great state.”

Awards and Recipients:

Award of Valor

Trooper Nick R. White – Troop E, District 5 – King, N.C.

Purple Heart Award

Retired Lieutenant Maurice C. Chilton – Greensboro, N.C.

Meritorious Service Award

Trooper Steven D. Reed – Troop B, District 1 – Fayetteville, N.C.

Trooper Joseph P. Howard – Troop A, District 4 – Washington, N.C.

Sergeant Daniel T. Hilburn – Troop B, District 5 – Whiteville, N.C.

Trooper James A. McVicker, Jr. – Troop B, District 5 – Elizabethtown, N.C.

Trooper Kathryn L. McVicker – Troop B, District 5 – Elizabethtown, N.C.

Samaritan Service Award

Mr. Richard C. Needham – Storeroom Manager – Raleigh, N.C.

Mr. Richard M. Wyrick – Automotive Mechanic II – Greensboro, N.C.

First Sergeant Steven C. Kirby – Troop X, District 3 – Raleigh, N.C.

Trooper Chuck Lee – Troop F, District 5 – Lincolnton, N.C.

Trooper Shane L. Herrin – Troop E, District 3 – Salisbury, N.C.

Sergeant John B. Gardner – Troop C, District 4 – Louisburg, N.C.

Trooper Aaron M. Russ – Troop B, District 5 – Elizabethtown, N.C.

Trooper Julian M. Lee – Troop C, District 7 – Oxford, N.C.

Trooper Shane R. Furr – Troop E, District 6 – Concord, N.C.

Trooper Michael F. Loukos – Troop E, District 6 – Concord, N.C.

Ms. Angela M. James – Office Assistant – Concord, N.C.

Sergeant Steven M. Comer – Troop E, District 1 – Lexington, N.C.

Trooper Timothy J. Miles – Troop E, District 1 – Lexington, N.C.

Trooper Nathan S. Varney – Troop E, District 1 – Lexington, N.C.

Trooper Mark A. Bowers – Troop E, District 1 – Lexington, N.C.

Trooper Steven C. McHenry – Troop E, District 1 – Lexington, N.C.

Humanitarian Service Award

Sergeant Craig G. Harris – Troop G, District 4 – Asheville, N.C.

Trooper Herbert B. Lane – Troop C, District 3 – Raleigh, N.C.

Appreciation Award

Ms. Beverly Reece – Durham, N.C.

The Highway Patrol Award of Valor is given to a member who has demonstrated outstanding judgment, courage, personal bravery, and a selfless act of heroism involving risk of life to prevent injury, loss of life, or prevent damage to or loss of property.

The Highway Patrol Purple Heart Award is presented to a member who has been injured or wounded by an act of aggression or assault upon him/her while performing assigned duties

The Highway Patrol Meritorious Service Award is given by the Patrol to a member or members who serve the state of North Carolina in an outstanding manner.

The Highway Patrol Samaritan Award is an award bestowed to a member of the Patrol who went beyond the call of duty to aid or assist a fellow citizen.

The Highway Patrol Humanitarian Service Award is presented in recognition for an employee’s outstanding volunteer public service that significantly contributes to individuals, groups, organizations, or communities in North Carolina.

The Highway Patrol Appreciation Award is given in recognition of a citizen or group who has significantly contributed to the success and mission of the Highway Patrol.