• 11:57 am Bladen’s Best of the Best for 2019
  • 11:35 am Updated news about Bladen County Election Investigations
  • 4:35 pm Tillis & Sinema Introduce Bipartisan Legislation To Give Veterans Who Honorably Served Access To The American Legion
  • 4:01 pm Arraignment date for former Elizabethtown doctor and girlfriend rescheduled
  • 3:56 pm Letter to the Editor: Rebuttal to Sen. Thom Tillis’ Requests More Details From Administration On Offshore Drilling And Plans To Protect North Carolina
  • 2:33 pm State to hold last of two public meetings on draft Animal Feeding Operations General Permits
  • 2:03 pm Proposed legislation to make cell phone use while driving illegal in NC

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) was selected to be on the deputy whip team for Senate Majority Whip Sen. John Thune (R-SD) for the 116th Congress.

“This is a dynamic team, and I will rely on each of these men and women over the next two years. I’m thrilled to have the experience of Sen. Cornyn and those who have served as deputy whips in the past, as well as an opportunity to welcome our new members, Sen. McSally and Sen. Romney,” Senator Thune said.  “Last Congress, Senate Republicans worked together to implement reforms to help working families and increase opportunities for American workers. With the team we have put in place, I am confident we will continue to successfully deliver on the promises we made to the American people to improve their everyday lives.”

“I want to thank Senate Majority Whip Thune for asking me to be on the deputy whip team once again for the 116th Congress. The American people are looking to Congress for bipartisan results that move our country forward, and I will continue to work with my Senate colleagues on both sides of the aisle to build support for legislation that accomplishes that goal,” Senator Tillis said.

Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID) will lead the team as chief deputy whip. Also serving as deputy whips are Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Cornyn (R-TX), Cory Gardner (R-CO), James Lankford (R-OK), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Rob Portman (R-OH), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Tim Scott (R-SC), and Todd Young (R-IN).