Spread the love

The Town of Elizabethtown named their 2021 Employee of the Year. The Town also recognized another long-time staff member with naming a road after him at their Employee Thanksgiving Event on Wednesday, November 24.

Mayor Sylvia Campbell presented the 2021 Employee of the Year Award to Erin Deaver. Town Manager Dane Rideout recognized Deaver for her willingness to take on human resource duties for the Town in addition to her responsibilities with the Police Department.


Public Works employee, Keith Smith, was recognized for his 40 years of service to the Town. According to Rideout, Smith is the longest-serving employee in the Town’s history. In honor of his upcoming retirement, Rideout and Public Works Director Hugh Bledsoe revealed that the road leading into Tory Hole Park will be renamed “Keith Smith Lane.”


The formal renaming of the road is expected to happen at the Town Council meeting on December 6, 2021.

Employee Service Awards were also presented to the following:

20 Years of Service


Beverly Robinson – Administrative Assistant/ Certified Tax Collector


 15 Years of Service


Ricky Smith – Utilities Technician II


 10 Years of Service

Hugh Bledsoe – Public Service Director


5 Years of Service:

Tony Parrish – Police Chief

Joe Butler – Police Sergeant


Chris Avant – Police Sergeant

Jerimey Sykes – Water Department Technician

George Hopkins – Parks Supervisor

Samuel Hodge – Firefighter