• 4:49 pm NICA racers return to Brown’s Creek Bike Trail in Bladen County
  • 4:34 pm Phase II ahead of schedule in downtown Elizabethtown
  • 2:40 pm UNCW presents a two-night celebration featuring selections from operas and operettas
  • 2:38 pm Southeastern Fellowship Senior Golf Association Plays At Deercroft
  • 2:35 pm State Superintendent Mark Johnson Announces $2 million in Federal Grant Aid to Districts and Schools Affected by 2018 Hurricanes

By Erin Smith

Voters will be casting their ballots on Tuesday for the candidate of his or her choice in Bladen County. Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

Voter turn out was high during the One Stop voting as more than 6,000 voters cast their ballots.

“It’s running pretty high,” said Bladen County Board of Elections Director Cynthia Shaw of the voter turn out as of Monday morning.

Some races which are generating interest in Bladen County feature incumbents facing challenges for their seats. In the race for Bladen County Sheriff, incumbent Republican Sheriff Jim McVicker will face a challenge from Democrat Hakeem Brown.

Incumbent Bladen County Register of Deeds Beverly T. Parks, a Democrat, will face a challenge from Republican Jason Britt.

In the County Commissioner District 2 race, incumbent Republican Charles Ray Peterson will face a challenge from Democrat Dawson Singletary. In the County Commissioner District 3 race, incumbent Democrat Russell Priest will face a challenge from Republican Wayne Edge.

The Board of Education At-Large, has three seats available. Incumbent Democrats, Tim Benton and Vince Rozier and incumbent Republican Dennis Edwards, will be joined by democrat Cory Singletary. The top three vote-getters will be seated on the board.

The Bladen County Soil Water Conservation District Supervisor race features three candidates vying for two seats. The candidates are Tim Gause, Earl Storms and Charles Wendell Gillespie. The top two vote-getters will be seated.

In the North Carolina House District 22 seat, incumbent Republican William Brisson is facing a challenge from Democrat Martin “Tony” Denning.

In the NC Senate District 8, which includes Bladen County, incumbent Republican Bill Rabon will face a challenge from Democrat David Sink Jr. and Libertarian Anthony H. Mascalo.

Congressional races of local interest include the NC House District 7 seat held by incumbent Republican David Rouzer. He will be challenged by Democrat Kyle Horton and Constitutional Party candidate David W. Fallin.

In the NC House District 9 race, Republican Mark Harris will face challenges from Democrat Dan McCready and Libertarian Jeff Scott.

Voters will also be asked to decide on a quarter-cent sales tax and several amendments to the state’s constitution.

You can find sample ballots here.