Spread the love


February 13, 2024, Regular and Absentee Meeting Minutes

The meeting was delayed for lack of a quorum.  Chair Atkinson called the meeting to order at 5:25 pm with four members in attendance. Michael Aycock arrived during the Pledge of Allegiance and all members were then present.

The agenda was approved as presented on a motion by Aaron Cox and a second by Patsy Sheppard.  The vote was unanimous.

The minutes of the two previous meetings were read by the secretary and approved on a motion by Aaron Cox and a second by Michael Aycock.  The vote was 5-0.

In old business, Director Wanda Monroe reported on a meeting held with Bladen County Chief Deputy Johnson and Bladen County Emergency Management Director Joey Coleman that she and Chairman Atkinson attended.  The meeting was to discuss plans and procedures for potential emergencies during the election and at polling sites.  Director Monroe reported that the new locks for the elections office had been received but were the wrong kind of locks and had to be reordered.  She spoke to Fire Marshal Kenneth Clark, who promised to issue his inspection report about the elections office this week.

The update of the web system and webpage creation are on hold because there is no Wi-Fi for the county system currently.  Staff member James Nance reported that the board of elections webpage is about 45% complete.  Director Monroe reported that the proposed budget for elections for the next fiscal year is due on February 29th.

Chair Atkinson asked about the status of the rental agreement proposed by the town of Dublin for the polling site that is under review by board attorney Allen Johnson.  Patsy Sheppard made a motion to have Attorney Johnson attend our meeting to explain the ramifications of such an agreement.  Michael Aycock seconded the motion, and it passed by a 5-0 vote.

In new business, the board reviewed 4 absentee ballots.  Aaron Cox made a motion to approve 3 ballots and have one offered the cure process.  Michael Aycock seconded, and the vote was 5-0.

The following appointments were made to update poll workers for primary Election Day:

Ethel Davis was appointed Chief Judge for Cental precinct on a motion by Patsy Sheppard and a second by Aaron Cox.  The vote was 5-0.

Suzette Morris was reappointed to be chief judge at Lake Creek precinct on a motion by Michael Aycock and a second by Patsy Sheppard.  The vote was 5-0.

Darlene Bowen, Jessica Graham, and Steve Bertini were appointed assistants for Carver’s Creek on a motion by Patsy Sheppard and a second by Michael Aycock.  The vote was 5-0.

The Liberty Healthcare facility has requested voting assistance for 8 of their residents from a MAT team.  Appointees to the MAT team are Pansi Druzak, Jessica Wilson, Mary Johnson, and Martha Davis.  They will receive training on February 17th and visit the facility on February 22nd.

Director Monroe reviewed the important dates for the primary election and reminded board members to add Election Canvass on March 15th to their calendars.

Aaron Cox moved to adjourn, and Michael Aycock seconded the motion.  The vote was 5-0 and the meeting adjourned at 6:16 pm.

About Author