Spread the love

By Charlotte Smith

Boy Scout Troop 600 held an Eagle Scout Court of Honor in recognition of Maxwell (Max) DiLello and Samuel (Sam) Inscoe on Saturday, February 26, 2022. To earn the highest rank in Scouting, the Eagle Scout rank, a Boy Scout must fulfill leadership, service, and outdoor skills requirements. DiLello and Inscoe individually earned at least 21 merit badges for mastery of specific Scoutcraft skills to reach the upper echelon.

Watch a video of the ceremony on the YouTube Channel linked below:

Family members, friends, Scouts, and mentors gathered at Elizabethtown Presbyterian Church to celebrate the two young men and their accomplishments. Before the pair of rising Scouts declared the Eagle Scout Promise, Troop 600 led the Presentation of Colors, the Pledge of Allegiance, Scout Oath, and the Stages of Scouting.

Eagle Scout David Bullard explained the past, present, and future of the Eagle Scout rank. Since its inception in 1911, only about three or four percent of Scouts have earned the status of the Eagle Scout. It is a classification that sets those who obtain the level apart and on a higher footing.

[slideshow_deploy id=’233219′]

Then Bullard charged DiLello and Inscoe, “Keep your solemn oath to your god, your country, to your fellow Scouts, and to mankind in general.”

The new Eagle Scouts received their new Eagle Badges. Eagle Scout Inscoe also received the Bronze Palm for earning five additional merit badges beyond those required for Eagle Scout rank.

Eagle Scout DiLello presented his parents, Michael and Trisha DiLello, with pins to acknowledge their support and sacrifice for him. He also gave his mentor from Elizabethtown Christian Academy, David Falk, the Guiding Light Pin Award.

“This is for putting up with me for several years and helping me throughout school…,” Eagle Scout DiLello told his mentor.

To show gratitude for his parents, Eagle Scout Inscoe presented his father and mother, Graham and Trish Inscoe, with pins.

As he awarded his mother, Trish, with the Guiding Light Pin as well, he said, “I want to thank you for everything you have done for me. You helped me push to the end, and I wouldn’t be standing here today if it wasn’t for you.”

In closing, Reverend David Holloway spoke about the many prayers lifted for DiLello and Inscoe and how proud he was of them both. With loud applause, the ceremony concluded, and everyone in attendance was invited to a reception in the Activity Building of the church.

Members of the Cape Fear Council Boy Scout Troop 600 are as follows: Seth Adams, Austin Arp, Aaron Barbour, Tucker Bordeaux, Topher Callihan, Aiden Carter, Jacob Caulder, Cody Clark, Josh DeAndrade, Max DiLello, Hutchens Glenn, Sam Inscoe, Colin King, Taylor King, Kenneth Rhodie, Andrew Runion, Aiden Russ, Jaylen Smith, Jake Stewart, Nate Stewart, Max Tart, Travis Taylor, Bailey Williams. Scout leaders: Andy Runion, Scoutmaster, Mark Gillespie, Scoutmaster, Dean Alsup, Assistant Scoutmaster, Thomas Barbour, Assistant Scoutmaster, Chris Callihan Assistant Scoutmaster, Rogers Clark, Assistant Scoutmaster.

Related articles: