Spread the love

The Bladen County Board of Elections announced Wednesday afternoon the election offices will be closed Thursday and Friday.  “Our board unanimously agreed to cancel one stop for both days,” stated Valeria Peacock McKoy, Interim Director with Bladen County Board of Elections.

Therefore, the only date left for citizens of Bladen County to vote for the U.S. House District 9 election will be on September 10th. Candidates for the U.S. House seat are Democrat Dan McCready, Republican Dan Bishop, Green Party’s Allen Smith and Libertarian Jeff Scott.

The special election was ordered after voting irregularities were discovered in November’s election. Republican Mark Harris defeated Democrat Dan McCready by about 900 votes, but the State Elections Board refused to certify the race because of an alleged absentee ballot collection scheme centered around Bladen County political operative McCrae Dowless. Harris is not running in the special election.

Following is a list of the 12 precinct voting locations:

Bladen County General Election Precincts:

ABBOTS – Community Bldg. 13670 Twisted Hickory Rd. Bladenboro NC 28320
BETHEL – Singletary United Methodist Church 241 3rd St. Dublin NC 28332
BLADENBORO 1 – Historical Bldg. 818 S. Main St. Bladenboro NC 28320
BLADENBORO 2 – Old Spaulding-Monroe School 508 MLK Dr. Bladenboro NC
BROWN MARSH – Town Hall 81 N Elm St. Clarkton NC 28433
CENTRAL – Shriner’s Bldg. 2016 NC 242 Hwy N Elizabethtown NC 28337
COLLY – Fire Dept. 1879 White Lake Dr. White Lake NC 28337
CYPRESS CREEK – Hickory Grove Fire Dept. 132 NC 210 Hwy W Garland NC 28441
ELIZABETHTOWN 1 – Bladen County Recreation Dept. Gym 803 W King St.
Elizabethtown, NC 28337
HOLLOW – Municipal Bldg. 14867 NC 87 Hwy W Tar Heel NC 28392
TURNBULL – Ammon Comm. Bldg. 120 Ammon Comm. Cent. Rd. Garland NC 28441
WHITE OAK – Ruritan Bldg. 9579 NC 53 Hwy W White Oak NC 28399


About Author