Spread the love

By: Robert G. Hester

The Bladen County Board of Elections may be a busy place over the next few weeks.  Filing for political offices begin at noontime Tuesday and will continue until 12 noon, Monday, December 21, 2015.

Over 22,000 local voters are currently eligible to vote in the Bladen County primary to be held on March 15, 2016.

The voters will decide on candidates from the local and state level to the White House.

Locally, six County Commissioners will be elected for a four (4) year term, three (3) members of the Board of Education and one (1) seat on the Soil and Water Conservation Board.

Voters will elect members to the NC House of Representatives, NC Senate, several Judges, a District Attorney, a member of the US House of Representatives, a US Senator and the next President of the United States of America.

Terms expire for the following county commissioners,  (six seats) (4 year term)

Billy Ray Pait (R)   At-Large

James G. (Jimmie) Smith (D) At-Large

Michael G. Cogdell (D)  At-Large

Dr. Delilah Blanks (D)  District 1

Daniel Dowless  (D)  District 2

Wayne Edge  (D) District 3

Board of Education   (3 seats) (4 year term)

Ophelia Munn-Goins (D) District 1

Wilbur Smith, Jr. (D) District 2

Bonnell Walker  (D) District 3

Soil and Water Conservation (non-partisan)  (1 seat) (4 year term)

McCrae Dowless

Superior Court Judge  (8 year term)  (2 seats) (non-partisan)

Douglas B. Sasser, Jr.

Ola Lewis

District 13 Court Judge  (4 seats) (non-partisan) (4 year term)

Pauline Hankins

Jerry A. Jolly

Scott Ussery

Marion Warren (recently resigned)

NC House 22nd District   (2 year term)

William D. Brisson  (D)

NC House 46th District  (2 year term)

Ken Waddell (D)

NC Senate 8th District (2 year term)

Bill Rabon (R)

District Attorney  (4 year term)

Jon David (R)

US House of Representatives  (2 year term)

David Rouzer  (R)

US Senate  (6 year term)

Richard Burr  (R)

Several incumbents have indicated they would not seek re-election, including county commissioners Dr. Delilah Blanks and Billy Ray Pait.  Ken Waddell recently announced he would not seek re-election to the NC House of Representatives.

Candidates can file for an office at the Bladen County Board of Elections,  301 Cypress Street, Elizabethtown, NC, behind the Post Office.

Share on social media using link: https://bladencounty.org/?p=35074