Spread the love


Nine teachers from across North Carolina have been selected as the state’s regional Teachers of the Year for their dedication, innovation and ability to inspire students to achieve.

These accomplished educators will now compete for the title of 2019 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year. The winner succeeds the 2018 Teacher of the Year, Freebird McKinney, a history and philosophy teacher at Walter Williams High in the Alamance-Burlington School System.

The 2019 North Carolina Regional Teachers of the Year are:

*Northeast: Damon Walcott, Washington High (Beaufort County Schools);
Southeast: Christy Howe, Bradley Creek Elementary (New Hanover County Schools);
*North Central: C.R. “Katie” Eddings, Lee County High (Lee County Schools);
*Sandhills: Mariah Morris, West Pine Elementary (Moore County Schools);
*Piedmont-Triad: Shiela Patterson, South Stokes High (Stokes County Schools);
*Southwest: Kate Culbreth, Wolf Meadow Elementary (Cabarrus County Schools);
*Northwest: Laura Brooks, Wilkes Central High (Wilkes County Schools);
*Western: Caesar Campana IV, Hayesville High (Clay County Schools); and
*Charter Schools: Douglas Price, Voyager Academy, (Durham, NC)
The 2019 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year will be announced April 12 at an awards ceremony in Cary. Since 2013, the N.C. Department of Public Instruction has been proud to partner with the Burroughs Wellcome Fund to honor North Carolina teachers. The state has recognized outstanding teachers through its Teacher of the Year program since 1970.

The mission of the North Carolina Teacher of the Year Program is to promote the profession through advocacy and support while recognizing outstanding teaching professionals who are implementing best practices in classrooms across North Carolina.

Learn more about our program here. Follow us at #NCTOY/POY

About Author