Spread the love

Eight School Leaders Now Vie for State Title
Eight outstanding public school principals have been selected as regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year and will now compete for the state title of 2019 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2018 recipient, Tabari Wallace, principal of West Craven High (Craven County Schools).

The regional principals of the year are:

*Northeast: Melissa Fields, Perquimans Central (Perquimans County Schools);
*Southeast: Elizabeth P. Pierce, Frink Middle (Lenoir County Schools);
*North Central: Matthew Bristow-Smith, Edgecombe Early College High (Edgecombe County Public Schools);
*Sandhills: James “Bo” Mullins, Clement Elementary (Sampson County Schools);
*Piedmont-Triad: Sean Gaillard, Lexington Middle (Lexington City Schools);
*Southwest: Dr. Timisha Barnes-Jones, West Charlotte High (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);
*Northwest: Michelle Baker, Eastfield Global Magnet (McDowell County Schools); and
*Western: Brandon Sutton, Swain Middle (Swain County Schools).

The Wells Fargo Principal of the Year Award was introduced in 1984 to recognize the critical role of the principal in establishing a culture that supports the pursuit and achievement of academic excellence in North Carolina schools. The 2019 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year will be announced May 10.

About Author