Spread the love

West Bladen AJROTC defeated Smith Station MCJROTC 915.3 to 858.2 in the 2023 National Air Rifle New Shooter League. West Bladen AJROTC was led by Marissa Taylor, who shot a 255.0. The remaining contributing members were Sarah Hash, Ashley Resindez, and John Hundley. They are from Bladenboro and are coached by Hash.

Overall, West Bladen AJROTC is ranked 32nd and have a 1-0 record.

Smith Station MCJROTC was led by Dominic Colon, who shot a 234.2. The remaining contributing members were Matthew Westenkirchner, Donovan Melendez, and Daniel Miller. Smith Station MCJROTC is from Smith Station, Alabama, and is coached by Major William Bolden.

Overall, Smith Station MCJROTC is ranked 34th and has a 1-1 record.

Next up, West Bladen AJROTC will compete against Natchitoches Central AJROTC from Natchitoches, Louisiana. Natchitoches Central AJROTC currently has a 0-2 record. While Smith Station MCJROTC will compete against Kelly Walsh MCJROTC from Casper, Wyoming. Kelly Walsh MCJROTC currently has a 1-0 record.

These two teams are competing in the National Air Rifle “New Shooter” League. Sponsored by the Orion Scoring System, the league is a national team league exclusive to athletes in their first year of competition. Teams are from high schools and junior rifle clubs throughout the United States. Over 10 weeks each team competes in 8 games. Each week, each team is paired with another team with a near equal skill level.

In each game the teams compete in what is known as a Three-Position Air Rifle match. The match is modeled after Olympic Rifle competitions but adapted to high school age athletes. Each athlete shoots 10 shots in three different shooting positions, prone, standing, and kneeling. Each shot is worth a maximum of 10.9 points. The sum of points scored in the 30 shots is the athlete’s total. The team score is comprised of the best four athletes from each team.

Click here for more information on the league, including complete standings

Click here for game box score

Click here for West Bladen AJROTC team page

Click here for Smith Station MCJROTC team page


About Author