Spread the love

Lawyer Goldston Womble Jr. will seek another term as White Lake mayor and East Arcadia commissioners Carlee Carter and Horace Munn filed for re-election Friday, according to the Bladen County Board of Elections.

The only contest thus far in Bladen County municipal elections with a week remaining for people to file is White Lake Board of Commissioners. Incumbents Tim Clifton and Tom Riel and candidates Jay Young and Dean Hilton will be on the November ballot for he three seats available.

Fourteen candidates filed during the first week. Filing ends Friday, July 19 at noon, according to the Elections office. The filing fee is $5.

The election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 5. Voters must be registered by Oct. 11.

Elections will be held in Bladenboro, Clarkton, Dublin, East Arcadia, Elizabethtown, Tar Heel and White Lake.

For information or questions about the elections or voting, contact the Bladen County Board of Elections at (910) 862-6951 or email elections@bladenco.org.

Here is a list of elected officials whose seats are up for re-election and candidates who have filed, according to the Board of Elections:

Commissioners: Gene Norton (filed), Patsi Callihan, Sara Jane Benson

Mayor: Arthur Whedbee (filed)
Commissioner: Lawrence McDouglad

Mayor: Darryl Dowless
Commissioners: David Hursey and David Kirby (filed)

East Arcadia
Mayor: Perry Blanks
Commissioners: Carlee Carter (filed), Rhonda Hall and Horace Munn (filed)

Mayor: Sylvia Campbell (filed)
Commissioners: Ricky Leinwand (filed), Howell Clark (filed) and Dicky Glenn (filed)

Tar Heel
Mayor: Roy Dew
Commissioners: Sam Allen, Michael Underwood and Angie Hall

White Lake
Mayor: Goldston Womble (filed)
Commissioners: Tom Riel (filed), Tim Clifton (filed) and Tracey Trivette
Non-incumbents who have filed: Jay Young and Dean Hilton

Voter ID seminar

The Bladen County Board of Elections has scheduled a voter photo identification requirements and election education at 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. on Thursday, July 18 at the Bladen Community College auditorium.

Beginning in 2020, voters will be required to provide photo identification before they vote. This includes both in-person and by-mail voting, with some exceptions.

In November 2018, North Carolina voters approved an amendment to the N.C. Constitution to require voters to present photo ID at the polls.

U.S. House District 9 election

The election to fill the U.S. House District 9 seat is scheduled for Sept. 10. There will three candidates on the ballot: Republican Dan Bishop, Democrat Dan McCready, Libertarian Jeff Scott and Green Party candidate Allen Smith.

To vote in the election, a person must be registered by Aug. 16.

There will be two one-stop locations for the special election.

1. The Bladen County Board of Elections at 301 S. Cypress St. Elizabethtown, NC.
Wednesday, August 21 – Saturday, August 24
Monday, August 26 – Saturday, August 31
Tuesday, September 3 – Friday, September 6
8:30 am – 5:00 pm

2. Tar Heel Municipal Bldg. at 14867 NC 87 Hwy. W. Tar Heel, NC.
Wednesday, August 21 – Saturday, August 24
Monday, August 26 – Saturday, August 31
Tuesday, September 3 – Friday, September 6
10:30 am – 7:00 pm

There will be no voting on Sundays or Labor Day.

About Author