Press "Enter" to skip to content

Almost 900 vote in early voting for Tuesday’s municipal elections

Almost 900 people cast ballots in municipal election races during the early voting period that ended Friday, according to figures released by the Bladen County Board of Elections.

Election day is Tuesday for Bladen County’s seven municipalities. Polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. Voters do not need photo identification to vote. Only voters registered in Bladenboro, Clarkton, Dublin, East Arcadia, Elizabethtown, Tar Heel and White Lake are eligible to vote in town elections.

Two of the four contested races among the municipalities are for mayoral seats. White Lake incumbent mayor Goldston Womble is being challenged by Gray Marshburn. In Clarkton, incumbent Arthur Whedbee is being challenged by Tim Tart and Jon Hall. There also are contested races for three seats on the Elizabethtown Town Board and the Bladenboro Board of Commissioners.

Bladen Online will provide election results soon after polls close Tuesday.

The Bladen County Board of Elections reported that 889 votes had been cast during the two-week early voting period held at the board’s office in Elizabethtown. Only three towns – Bladenboro, Clarkton and Elizabethtown – participated in early voting.

Here are precincts that will be open Tuesday, according to the Board of Elections:

BETHEL: Singletary United Methodist Church, 241 3rd Street, Dublin

BLADENBORO 1: Historical Building, 818 S. Main Street., Bladenboro

BLADENBORO 2: Old Spaulding Monroe School, 508 MLK Drive, Bladenboro

BROWN MARSH: Town Hall, 81 N Elm Street, Clarkton

CARVERS CREEK: East Arcadia Town Hall, 1472-A East Arcadia Road, Riegelwood

COLLY: Fire Dept., 1879 White Lake Drive, White Lake

ELIZABETHTOWN 1: Bladen County Recreation Dept. Gym, 803 W. King Street, Elizabethtown

ELIZABETHTOWN 2: Powell-Melvin Agricultural Service Center, 450 Smith Circle, Elizabethtown

HOLLOW: Municipal Building, 14867 NC 87 West, Tar Heel


Here is a list of candidates. (i) means incumbent.

Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Gene Norton, (i) Patsi Callihan, (i) Sara Jane Benson, Joey Todd, Stephanie A. Thurman, John (Mac) Bowen and Claudette Lewis Guy.

Mayor: (i) Arthur Whedbee, Tim Tart and Jon Hall.
Commissioner (1 seat): Linda Croom

Mayor: (i) Darryl Dowless.
Commissioners (2 seats): (i) David Hursey and (i) David Kirby.

East Arcadia
Mayor: (i) Perry Blanks.
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Carlee Carter, (i) Rhonda Hall and (i) Horace Munn.

Mayor: (i) Sylvia Campbell.
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Ricky Leinwand, (i) Howell Clark, (i) Dicky Glenn, Crysal Lewis Crumb, Mary A. McMillian, Jessica McKoy Wilson and Debbie Heyward.

Tar Heel
Mayor: (i) Roy Dew
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Sam Allen.

White Lake
Mayor: (i) Goldston Womble and Gray Marshburn.
Commissioners (3 seats): (i) Tom Riel, (i) Tim Clifton, Jay Young and Dean Hilton.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.