Spread the love

Voters in six Bladen County municipalities will decide Tuesday on who will serve as their representatives on town boards and in mayor’s offices. However, there are only two contested races.

Polls are scheduled to open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday at sites in each municipality, according to the N.C. State Board of Elections. Any registered voter in line at their assigned polling place 7:30 p.m. will be allowed to vote. There was no early voting in Bladen County for municipal elections.

This will be the first election that photo ID will be required to vote. Go to the State Board of Elections web site for information about photo ID.

The contested races are for Clarkton mayor and three seats on the White Lake Board of Commissioners.

Incumbent Tim Tart is being challenged by commissioner Stephen Hester to be mayor of Clarkton.

In White Lake, incumbents Tom Riel and Dean Hilton are running for re-election against challengers Terri Hawley, Ken Register Jr. and Jake Womble. The top three will have four-year terms on the six-member board. Current board member Tim Clifton is not running for re-election.

Tar Heel is not having elections this year.

Here is a list of candidates on Tuesday’s ballots and municipal voting locations, according to information on the Bladen County Board of Elections web site:

• Commissioners (3 seats) — Terry Nance, Phyllis Hester Boyd, Dixon Nance
• Bladenboro No. 1, Historical Building, 818 South Main Street
• Bladenboro No. 2, 508 Martin Luther King Drive

• Mayor — Tim Tart, Stephen Hester
• Commissioner — Linda Croom
• Brown Marsh, Town Hall, 81 North Elm Street

• Mayor — Alex Hursey
• Commissioner — David Kirby
• Bethel, Dublin Community Center, 120 2nd Street

• Mayor — Travis Andrews
• Commissioner (3 seats) — Fannie Long, Rhonda Hall, Veronica Moore
• Carvers Creek, East Arcadia Town Hall, 1516 East Arcadia Road, Riegelwood

• Mayor — Sylvia Campbell
• Council — Ricky Leinwand, Howell Clark, Rich Glenn
• Elizabethtown No. 1, Recreation Department Gym, 803 West King Street
• Elizabethtown No. 2, Powell-Melvin Agricultural Service Center, 450 Smith Circle

• Mayor — Goldston Womble Jr.
• Commisioners (3 seats) — Terri Hawley, Tom Riel, Dean Hilton, Ken Register Jr., Jake Womble
• Colly, Fire Department, 1879 White Lake Drive

About Author