Spread the love

Contact: _____Ashley Blackmon___________
Date: ________June 9, 2022_______________
Telephone: ____910-682-3284_____________

On May 31 , 20 22 , Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack declared a natural disaster in the
State of North Carolina based on losses caused by drought that occurred April 5 , 20 22 and
continuing . As a result of this natural disaster, 14 North Carolina counties were declared
eligible for Federal disaster assistance, including Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency (EM) loans for eligible family farmers. Those primary disaster counties are:
Beaufort Cumberland Greene Jones Martin Robeson Wayne

Bladen Edgecombe Jonston Lenoir Pitt Sampson Wilson

In addition to those 14 primary disaster counties, 18 additional North Carolina counties are
named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan
assistance, in accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development
Act. Those counties are:

Bertie Craven Halifax Hyde Onslow Scotland
Carteret Duplin Harnett Moore Pamlico Wake
Columbus Franklin Hoke Nash Pender Washington

Ashley Blackmon said that effective May 31 , 20 22 , farmers in Beaufort, Bladen, Cumberland,
Edgecombe, Greene, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Wayne,
Wilson, Bertie, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Duplin, Franklin, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde,
Moore, Nash, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Scotland, Wake and Washington. may apply for EM
loans for physical and/or production losses. January 31 , 20 23 is the deadline for filing an
application. The local office is located at 80 County Complex Rd., Clinton, NC 28328______
and has office hours of 8:00 am to 4:30 pm__. Ashley Blackmon said that any farmer who
suffered a physical and/or production loss should contact his/her office for additional

About Author