Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladen County Board of Elections announces total votes so far in the municipal election

Municipal elections will be held Tuesday (November 5) in 92 North Carolina counties, where voters will choose mayors, other local elected officials and referendums. Bladen County Board of Elections has been working hard to iron out details and prepare for election day.

The new Bladen County Board of Elections Director, Mr. Christopher L. Williams announced the following totals this far in the local elections.

Total for One-Stop Voting: 889

Elizabethtown: 742

Bladenboro: 124

Clarkton: 23

Provisionals: 13

Absentee by Mail approved: 20

If the Absentee by Mail votes are approved and all are tabulated this evening at 5 p.m. the total will be 909 total votes cast so far, according to Mr. Williams.

There will be a meeting today at 5:00 p.m. at the Board of Elections office in Elizabethtown to approve several more Absentee by mail votes according to Mr. Williams.  Mr. Williams said anyone may call the office for answers to any questions they may have about voting. The phone number to the office is 910-862-6951.

The following candidates are running for office. (i) is incumbent:


Commissioner (3 seats): (i) Sara Jane Benson, John (Mac) Bowen, (i) Patsi Callihan, Claudette Lewis Guy, (i) Gene Norton, Stephanie A. Thurman and Joey Todd

On the ballot for Bladenboro residents will also have two questions to decide  whether to allow the sale of malt beverages and unfortified wine.


Mayor: Jon Hall, Tim Tart and (i) Arthur Whedbee

Commissioner (1 seat): Linda Croom


Mayor: (i) Darryl Dowless

Commissioner (2 seats): (i) T. David Hursey and (i) David Kirby


Mayor: (i) Perry Blanks

Commissioner (3 seats): (i) Carlee Carter, (i) Rhonda Blanks Hall, (i) Horace Munn


Mayor: (i) Sylvia Campbell

Council (3 seats): (i) Howell Clark, (i) Dicky Glenn, Debbie Heyward, (i) Ricky Leinwand, Mary A. McMillian and Jessica McKoy Wilson


Mayor: (i) Roy Dew

Commissioner (3 seats): (i) Sam Allen


Mayor: Gray Marshburn and (i) H. Goldston Womble Jr.

Commissioner (3 seats): (i) Tim Clifton, Dean C. Hilton, (i) Tom Riel and Jay Young

Canvass for November’s election is scheduled for Nov. 15 at 11 a.m. at the Board of Elections.

Registered voters can see if they have an election in which they are eligible to vote and view their sample ballot and Election Day polling place by using the Voter Search Tool.

Karen Brinson Bell, executive director of the North Carolina State Board of Elections, urged all eligible voters who did not vote early to cast their ballot on Tuesday.

“Municipal elections have a tremendous impact on our everyday lives,” Brinson Bell said. “Those elected on Tuesday make decisions about our police and fire services, parks, water systems, sidewalks and more. Yet municipal elections often have low voter participation, meaning these races are often decided by slim margins.”

The State Board of Elections offers the following 9 tips for Election Day voters:

  1. Registered voters who reside in a municipality with elections may vote on Election Day. To find out if you are eligible and to view a sample ballot, go to the State Board’s Voter Lookup tool here:
  2. Polls are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters in line at 7:30 p.m. will be able to cast a ballot.
  3. Find your Election Day polling place here:
  4. Same-day voter registration is not available on Election Day.
  5. Voters who need assistance or accommodations at the polls must request it. Individuals who are unable to enter the polling place may vote curbside.
  6. Voter photo identification is not required in any North Carolina election in 2019. It will be required to vote in 2020, with exceptions.
  7. If you present to vote and your name is not on the voter list, you may request a provisional ballot. No voter will be turned away.
  8. The State Board asks that all voters respect the right of others to participate in the election. Intimidating any voter is a crime. Voters who feel harassed or intimidated should notify an election official immediately.
  9. Election results will begin posting after 7:30 p.m. on the State Board website here:


Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.