Spread the love

Photos contributed by: KenArmPhoto.com

[slideshow_deploy id=’119681′]

ELIZABETHTOWN – Center Lancine Soumanoro poured in 26 points Monday night to lead Tar Heel to a 36-18 boys basketball victory over East Arcadia in the opening round of the Bladen Five Middle School Conference tournament.

East Arcadia grabbed the early lead at 5-2 as Emanuel Lewis tossed in a basket, and Kenneth Armstrong fired in a 3-point shot.

Soumanoro worked the paint for three Tar Heel baskets, and teammate Antonio Candelaria drove for a lay-up and a free throw in the first period.

Emanuel Lewis and Malaquie Lewis pumped in baskets for East Arcadia, and Armstrong nailed a 2-point shot in the closing seconds to push East Arcadia ahead 11-9 at the quarter break.

Soumanoro pounded the backboards for four baskets and two free throws in the second period to key an 11-0 Tar Heel run that produced a 20-11 halftime lead. Candelaria cashed in a free throw for the other Tar Heel point in the period.

Soumanoro battled inside for five more baskets to spark a 16-4 third quarter surge for Tar Heel. Teammate Larry Council threw in two baskets, and Corey Clanton netted one as the lead grew to 36-15.

Emanuel Lewis drove to the basket for a pair of East Arcadia baskets in the third period. Trevon Sowers bombed in a 3-point shot for the only East Arcadia basket of the final quarter.

Emanuel Lewis topped the East Arcadia scoring with 8 points, and Armstrong finished with 5 points. Candelaria and Council tallied 4 points each for Tar Heel.

Coach Andy Clark’s Panthers advanced to a semi-final game Tuesday at 5:15 against top-seeded Elizabethtown.

EAST ARCADIA (18) – Emanuel Lewis 8, Kenneth Armstrong 5, Trevon Sowers 3, Quantico Fennell, Corey Robbins, Aljuan Brown, Malaquie Lewis 2, Tyler Pyatt, Dashawn Ballard, Shyheem Everette, Oliverio Matias, David Matias.

TAR HEEL (36) – Lancine Soumanoro 26, Antonio Candelaria 4, Ke Shawn Ballard, Larry Council 4, Gustavo Bravo, Gabriel Lara, Todd Richardson, Alex Garza, Deyon McDonald, Serinni Washington, Tucker Carroll, Saquan Lewis, Corey Clanton 2.

About Author