Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladenboro Historical Society Receives Monsanto Grant

Bladenboro – The Bladenboro Historical Society has been notified they are the recipients of a $2,500.00 grant from the Monsanto Fund America’s Farmers Grow Communities. Local Bladen County farmer, Jennifer Byrd, applied for the grant and selected the Bladenboro Historical Society as the non-profit organization to receive the funding.

Ricky Walters, President of the Bladenboro Historical Society, was excited to receive the grant on behalf of the organization. He noted the connection between the original Bladenboro Farm Life School building, for which the society operates, and farming in the community across generations of families and folks. The Bladenboro Historical Society Board (pictured) serves as a source of community awareness and history. The Bladenboro Farm Life School, besides serving as home to the Bladenboro Historical Society, houses the Bladenboro Town Museum, Craft Room, Genealogy and Research Room, Military Museum, Antique Farm Room, Visual Arts Gallery, Bladenboro School Room and Bladenboro High School Trophy Room. It also provides community event/meeting spaces and space for a local community health care program. The museums and historical rooms of the Bladenboro Farm Life School is open to the public free of charge. The Bladenboro Historical Society Gift Shop is also open to the public. Various vintage goods, t-shirts, books and other merchandise are available for purchase at the gift shop.

America’s Farmers Grow Communities, sponsored by the Monsanto Fund, gives farmers the chance to win a $2,500 donation for their favorite community nonprofit organization annually. Monsanto knows that when someone needs help, farmers answer the call. Every year, they endeavor to make it simple for farmers to lift up their communities through the America’s Farmers programs. With the help of farmers, Monsanto have given $3.2 million to rural communities in 2018, one $2,500 donation at a time (

Pictured are members of the Bladenboro Historical Society Board present at the March meeting:

Oral Cheshire, Henry Singletary, Elizabeth Pait, Judy Sessoms, Pat Hasbrouck, Charles Ray Peterson, President Ricky Walters, Joyce Walters, Graham Yarborough, Jon Hasbrouck, JD Hargrove, Eddie Walters, Mary Lou Davis, Kristina Yarborough, Margie Bridger, Virginia Howell, Sharon Anderson (Photographer)



Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.