Spread the love
CLARKTON – Center Javant McDowell dropped in 16 points to lead Elizabethtown to a 46-30 victory over Clarkton School of Discovery that clinched the Bladen Five Middle School boys basketball regular season championship for the Cougars.
Elizabethtown edged in front 12-10 in the first quarter as guard JaQuez McKoy threw in a couple of baskets, and McDowell and forward RaSean McKoy worked the paint for a basket and a free throw each. Teammate Drew Sholar added a basket.
Guard Garrett Melvin nailed a 3-point shot, and Jake Garrison tossed in a basket and a free throw for Clarkton in the quarter. J. T. Junious and Cornelius McArthur helped keep the Blue Devils close with a basket each.
Three baskets by McDowell sparked a 12-5 Cougar burst in the second quarter that opened up a 24-15 lead. Teammate Malcolm Bolden drained a 3-point shot, and Zach Meares pumped in a basket and a free throw.
Forward Jacob Priest buried a 3-point shot and another basket in the second period for Clarkton.
Lefrederick Wooten delivered a pair of third quarter baskets as the Elizabethtown lead grew to 34-22. McDowell sank 3 free throws, Meares netted a basket, and Sholar tacked on a free throw.
Priest bombed in another 3-pointer for Clarkton in the third period, and McArthur and Malachi Oxendine added a basket each.
McDowell, Meares and RaSean McKoy connected for 2 baskets each for Elizabethtown in the final period.
Priest drilled in another 3-pointer in the final quarter, Melvin cashed in 3 free throws, and Junious popped in a basket for the Blue Devils.
Meares finished with 9 points for the Cougars, RaSean McKoy followed with 7 points, and Wooten and JaQuez McKoy totaled 4 points each.
Priest topped the Clarkton scoring with 11 points, and Melvin followed with 6 points. Junious and McArthur finished with 4 points each.
Elizabethtown will be the top seed in next week’s Bladen Five Tournament with a 7-1 record. Clarkton, now 5-3, will be third seed.
E’twn (46) – JaQuez McKoy 4, Javant McDowell 16, Lefrederick Wooten 4, Zach Meares 9, Brady Hollingsworth, Drew Sholar 3, Ra’Sean McKoy 7, Raymond Autry, Malcolm Bolden 3, Layne Ross, Ahmad Powell, Marvin McKiver, Darius Autry, Ryan Yandle, Makhi Cromartie.
CSD (30) – Garrett Melvin 6, Jake Garrison 3, Jacob Priest 11, J. T. Junious 4, Malachi Oxendine 2, Cornelius McArthur 4, Donevin Keith, Nyshawn McMillian, Jackson Bostic, Nick Norris, Javious Brooks, Joseph Masaid, Nathan Lacewell.

About Author