Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladen County Boys Championship: Clarkton School of Discovery 40, Bladenboro 39

BLADENBORO – Lee Barnes scored 7 of his game-high 23 points in the decisive final quarter to lift Clarkton School of Discovery to a 40-39 victory over Bladenboro Thursday night in the championship game of the Bladen County Boys Basketball Tournament.

The teams were tied 27-27 after 3 periods. Noah Hall tossed in a basket and 2 free throws for the Blue Devils in the fourth quarter, and teammate Rodney Lacewell dropped in a basket.

Photos by Kenneth Armstrong
Hezekiah Adams kept the Bulldogs close with 2 baskets in the final period. Center Chase Williams and Aaron Lewis threw in a basket each, and Cade Allen and Landon Stanley sank 2 free throws each.

Hall followed Barnes on the CSD scoring list with 11 points. Adams topped the Bulldog scoring with 10 points. Teammate Andre Moore finished with 8 points, and Williams totaled 6 points.

Barnes drained a 3-point shot, 2 baskets and 4 free throws to spark the Blue Devils to an early 14-12 lead. Blaine Pope contributed a basket, and Hall hit a free throw.

Williams powered in 2 baskets, Adams popped in a basket and a free throw, Stanley bombed in a 3-ball, and Moore tacked on a basket for Bladenboro in the period.

Barnes netted a basket and 3 free throws in the second quarter. Hall pumped in a basket and 2 free throws, and Pope flipped in a basket to push the Clarkton lead to 25-22 at halftime.

Jackson Pait and Moore nailed 3-point shots for Bladenboro in the second period. Moore added a basket and a free throw, and Allen hit a free throw.

Adams cashed in 3 of 4 free throws in the third quarter, and Lewis delivered a basket as the Bulldogs pulled even at 27-27. Hall made 2 free throws for the only Blue Devil points in the period.

Coach Robert Mazur’s Blue Devils improved to 3-1 with the victory and will host Acme-Delco Thursday. Bladenboro, now 3-2, will entertain Elizabethtown Tuesday.

Clarkton      14  11  2  13 – 40
Bladenboro  12  10  5  12 – 39

CLARKTON SCHOOL OF DISCOVERY (40) – Blaine Pope 4, Ja’Nathan Johnson, Noah Hall 11, Lee Barnes 23, Rodney Lacewell 2, Matt Kemp, Keyon McKoy, Sherman Long, Dashon Campbell, Rashon Reevey, Chris Cromartie, Aiden Hargrove.

BLADENBORO (39) – Andre Moore 8, Hezekiah Adams 10, Chase Williams 6, Cade Allen 3, Aaron Lewis 4, Landon Stanley 5, Jackson Pait 3, Elijah McCollum, Tylik McCall, Jemiah Ross, Brandon McDonald, Breenan Greene, Trent Meares, Aiden Russ, Gavin Elks.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.